RU thanks employees for dedication and service

Radford University recognized 165 employees and 26 retirees for their years of dedication during the annual Employee Service Awards program on Tuesday, May 6.

"Each one of you has shown exemplary service to your department and to Radford University," said President Penelope W. Kyle as she welcomed honorees to the event.  "We are a name. We are a place. But for all that, it would not be meaningful without each one of you doing your job."

Kyle  and Christina Brogdon, executive director of human resources, presented certificates to employees who were recognized during the ceremony for a minimum of 10 years of service. Three employees were recognized for 35 years of service and five employees were recognized for 30 years.

Celebrating 35 years at Radford are:

  • Douglas E. Brinckman
  • Carl H. Lefko
  • Robert L. Milles

Celebrating 30 years at Radford are:

  • Sarah D. Dowdy
  • Roy E. Saville
  • Robert D. Spillman
  • Hsin-Min Tong
  • Chester F. Watts
Photo of President Kyle and 15-year employees

President Penelope W. Kyle, center, with employees who were recognized for 15 years of service.

RU said farewell to 26 retirees over the past year, three of whom attended the ceremony. Each was presented with a clock engraved with “Radford University” and their name as an expression of gratitude.

The retirees in attendance were:

  • Suzanne L. Bledsoe
  • Bonnie Q. Erickson
  • Carole L. Seyfrit

Two employees also received the Presidential Service Award, which honors individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the university.

Danny Coalson, manager of Printing Services, was recognized for his commitment to university clients, his exemplary management and his frequent record of going above and beyond to support projects in his department. Coalson has worked for the university for more than 27 years.

The second recipient of the award was Robert Duncan, manager of Postal Services. Duncan, who has worked at RU for 19 years, was honored by colleagues for showing exceptional professionalism, dedication and leadership, all while carefully shepherding the growth of Postal Services.

Photo of President Kyle with Danny Coalson

President Kyle and Presidential Service Award Winner Danny Coalson

Photo of President Kyle and Robert Duncan

President Kyle and Presidential Service Award Winner Robert Duncan

Presented each spring to celebrate employee dedication and service, the Employee Service Recognition program is coordinated by the Department of Human Resources.

May 7, 2014