Radford University honors workers at 2015 Employee Service Awards

Radford University recognized 170 employees and 35 retirees during the annual Employee Service Awards program on April 15 for their many years of dedication and service.

"Each of you has offered exemplary service to your department and our university," said President Penelope W. Kyle as she welcomed honorees to the event. Through your diligence and commitment, you have become leaders and examples to others around you.  Thank you all for what you do. "

Kyle and Christina Brogdon, executive director of human resources, presented certificates to employees who were recognized during the ceremony for a minimum of 10 years of service.

"I believe that it is the people that make the institution, not the institution itself," Kyle said. "With great people, you can have a great institution. We have exceptional people at Radford University and we're exceptional because of them."

Two employees were recognized for 35 years of service and 16 employees were recognized for 30 years.

Celebrating 35 years at Radford are:

  • Hooshang M. Beheshti
  • Graydon L. Collins

Celebrating 30 years at Radford are:

  • Felix E. Amenkhienan
  • Ellen Birx
  • Jack E. Call
  • Sally K. Cox
  • Linda P. Flinchum
  • Louis J. Gallo
  • Rosemary Guruswamy
  • Christine K. F. Hermann
  • Prahlad Kasturi
  • Janice D. Linkous
  • Glen T. Martin
  • Jeffrey S. Sapertstein
  • Lynn K. Saubert
  • R. Wayne Saubert
  • M. Jill Stewart
  • Robert L. Turner

President Penelope W. Kyle, center, with employees who were recognized for 30 years of service.

Radford University said farewell to retirees over the past year, three of whom attended the ceremony. Each was presented with a clock engraved with “Radford University” and their name, both as an expression of gratitude.

Retirees in attendance were:

  • David Buchanan
  • Sharon Hall
  • Robert Hiltonsmith
  • Nitza Kats
  • Dana Rose
  • Hsin-Min Tong

Two employees also received the Presidential Service Award, which honors individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the university.

Kathy Burnett, eVA Account Executive in Procurement and Contracts, was recognized for her role in making several e-systems run more smoothly for clients on campus and around the Commonwealth. Lauded by coworkers for her commitment and work ethic, Burnett has been an invaluable part of the Radford University community for 23 years.

The second recipient of the award was Jonathan Mayer '02, assistant manager of Printing Services. Mayer began at Radford University as a student and, in the nearly 10 years since starting his career at his alma mater, has made a lasting impact on campus. Not only does Mayer work with nearly every department on campus, he has been a proactive supporter of interns and student workers as well.

Presented each spring to celebrate employee dedication and service, the Employee Service Recognition program is coordinated by the Department of Human Resources.

Apr 22, 2015