Student Awards Ceremony honors the latest class of exemplary Radford students

The students who have gone above and beyond in their dedication and service to Radford University were honored at the 2014 Student Awards Ceremony and Reception.

In a presentation on April 26, in Muse Banquet Hall, Mark Shanley, RU's vice president for student affairs, bestowed the university's highest honor, the Outstanding Student Awards, to:

  • Halle Edwards, sophomore
  • Jacob Vaught, sophomore
  • Nina Chambers, junior
  • Hannah Gullickson, junior
  • Analise Roccaforte, senior
  • Daniel Metz, senior
  • Mary Dickerson, graduate student
  • Katherine Donaldson, graduate student

The award recognizes those who have excelled in promoting the true spirit and ideals of Radford University, both in academics and leadership, Shanley said.

Winners of the Outstanding Student Awards are chosen based on their positive contributions academically and in other areas of achievement, including contributions to the community, published papers, conference or workshop presentations, a role in a university production, participation in student government, athletics, and leadership or substantial time commitment to the university or the greater community. Winning students also must maintain a GPA of 3.2 for freshmen, 3.3 for sophomores, 3.4 for juniors, 3.5 for seniors and 3.7 for graduate students. Recipients are selected by a student nominating committee.

Photo of Outstanding Student Award Winners

Top row: Halle Edwards, Jacob Vaught, Daniel Metz and Mary Dickerson. Bottom row: Nina Chambers, Hannah Gullickson, Analise Roccaforte and Katherine Donaldson.

As an instructor for Radford University's LEAD 110 course, Ken Bonk, associate vice president of student affairs and director of student activities, recognized graduating LEAD Scholars:

  • Madelein Ford
  • Kaleice Green
  • Olivia Hilton
  • Victoria Scott
  • Kayla Smith

"Radford University's student leadership program—known as the LEAD Scholar Program—stands for Leadership through Excellence, Academics and Development," Bonk explained. Through hands-on experience, the program aims to promote active involvement and community engagement through creative and critical thinking, problem and solution analysis, and discovery and growth of individual leadership styles.


Left to right: Victoria Scott, Kaleice Green, Olivia Hilton, Madelein Ford and Kayla Smith.

Irvin Clark, dean of students and associate vice president for student affairs, recognized those selected for Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Founded in 1934, the program inducts members based on academic achievement, participation in co-curricular activities, citizenship and demonstrated leadership.

Students who accepted their "Who's Who" honor at the reception were:

  • Rebecca Boxler
  • Nina Chambers
  • Amber Ehrett
  • Jessica Frazelle
  • Sarah Gaunt
  • Emily E. Grant
  • Kaitlyn Hall
  • Nikki Holland
  • Brenna Ishler
  • Adrienne Keith
  • Katrina Koussis
  • Ashley Light
  • Lauren Markey
  • Daniel Metz
  • Analise Roccaforte
  • Kelsy Rupp
  • Cristina Spicher
  • Thomas Turner
  • Scott Werts
  • James Calvin Whorley
  • Erica Wilkening

James Pennix, dean of admissions and enrollment management presented the H.S. "Buddy" and Janet N. Johnston Outstanding Student Worker Awards to:

  • Breanna Arsenault for work in the College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences Advising Center
  • Elizabeth Dreher for work with the College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • Erica Wilkening for work in the Office of Undergraduate Research and Scholarship.

Of about 800 university-based student workers eligible for the award, Pennix said, the three recipients stood out for their excellent work ethic, inspiring efforts and dedication to the campus community.

John Leonard, assistant director for student activities and student involvement, presented the Student Organization Awards:

  • Outstanding Student Organization Award, Alpha Kappa Alpha
  • Unsung Hero Award to James Visbeck of the English Club
  • Programming Excellence Award to Hillel of Radford University for the 2nd Annual Purim Masquerade Ball
  • Community Service Program Award to Highlander Helpers
  • Advisory Excellence Award to April Asbury for her work with the English Club.

Colby Bender, who will serve as Student Government Association president for the 2014-15 academic year, spoke to his peers about the meaning of their involvement on campus. "Achievement leads to success. Success leads to an epitome of excellence that we all strive towards. Stay true to the commitments you have made to be better."

Apr 29, 2014