Performance Season

2018-19 Performance Season

October

Monday, October 1, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty Recital, Matt Cataldi – Piano

Tuesday, October 2, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Guest Artist Multimedia Concert “In Two Worlds”, John Sampen – Saxophone, and Mark Bunce – Sound Engineer and Composer

Friday October 5, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Guest Artist Recital, David Leisner, Guitarist/Composer

Wednesday October 10, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Wind Symphony Concert

Thursday, October 11, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Choral Ensembles Fall Concert

Tuesday, October 16, 7:30 p.m., The Bonnie Hurlburt Center, Blacksburg Master Chorale

Wednesday, October 17, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Choral Ensembles Fall Concert

Thursday, October 18, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Concert Jazz Ensemble

Tuesday, October 23, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty Chamber Concert featuring pianist Matt Cataldi

 

November

Tuesday, November 6, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Percussion Ensemble Concert

Friday, November 9, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Guest Artist Recital, Martin Jones – Pianist

Tuesday, November 13, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Guitar Ensemble Concert

Wednesday November 14, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Symphonic Band – Annual Student Conductor Concert

Friday, November 30, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Opera Workshop/Choral Ensembles Collaboration: Amahl and the Night Visitors/Refugee Concert

 

December

Wednesday December 5, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Wind Ensemble and Chamber Winds Concert

Thursday, December 6, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Concert Jazz Ensemble

 

February

Thursday, Feb. 7, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty Recital, Marlayna Maynard – Soprano

Monday, February 18, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty/Guest Chamber Recital

 

March

Wednesday, March 20, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Spring Choral Concert

Friday, March 22, 3:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m., Performance Hall and Scartelli Atrium in the Covington Center, Radford University Guitar Festival Day 1

Saturday, March 23, 9:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m, Performance Hall and Scartelli Atrium in the Covington Center, Radford University Guitar Festival Day 2

Thursday-Friday-Saturday, March 28-29-30, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Tri-State Chamber Winds Festival

Thursday, March 28, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Concert Jazz Ensemble Concert – Tri-State Chamber Winds Festival

Friday March 29, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Wind Ensemble and Symphonic Band Concert – Tri-State Chamber Winds Festival

Saturday, March 30, 11:00 a.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Tri-State Chamber Winds Festival Participant Concert

 

April

Thursday, April 4, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Opera Workshop Scenes Recital

Tuesday, April 9, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Guitar Ensemble Concert

Wednesday, April 10, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, University Performance Series, Scottish Voices

Tuesday, April 16, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Percussion Ensemble Concert

Wednesday, April 24, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Symphonic Band Concert

Thursday, April 25, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Concert Jazz Ensemble Concert 

Tuesday, April 30, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Masterworks Choral Concert with Children’s Choir

 

MAY

Wednesday, May 1, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Radford University Wind Ensemble & Chamber Winds Concert

 

Other Events

Wednesday, August 22, 8am-5pm: Faculty Retreat at SELU

Tuesday, August 28, 11:00am, Covington 121, 138, 143, Incoming student auditions

Friday August 31 – Saturday Sept 1, times TBD: Choral student retreat at SELU

Tuesday, September 4, 11am-12:30pm Fall Convocation for Music Department

Saturday, September 22, 9am-6pm, Covington 138, ACDA Mini-Conference hosted by the ACDA student chapter for pre-service conductor-teachers from around the commonwealth

Tuesday, October 2, time and rooms TBD, Masterclasses, John Sampen – Saxophone, and Mark Bunce – Sound Engineer and Composer

Saturday, October 6, 10am-1pm, Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Masterclass with David Leisner, Guitarist/Composer

Thursday, October 18, 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Choral Invitational recruiting initiative inviting all the changed voice tenor and basses in the area to work with a clinician, TBD

Saturday, October 27, 8am-7pm, Cave: Passages 2018 Music Therapy Conference

Tuesday, October 30, 4pm-8pm, RU Chorale members sing at Hollins University, Roanoke

Wednesday, November 7, 7:30pm, Bondurant Auditorium, University Performance Series

Saturday and Sunday, November 10-11, NCMEA, RU Chorale members to sing

November 15-17, TBA, VMEA, RU Choral Ensembles Performance

Sunday, December 2, 7:00 p.m., Opera Workshop/Choral Ensembles Collaboration: “Amahl and the Night Visitors”/Refugee Concert (Repeat Concert from November 30 at Calvary Baptist Church in Roanoke, VA)

Tuesday, December 4, 7:30pm, Bondurant Auditorium, University Performance Series

Friday, Saturday, Sunday, December 7-9, 7:30pm/2:00pm matinee Saturday and Sunday, Bondurant Auditorium; Nutcracker Ballet

Saturday, January 12, 8am-4pm, Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Covington Rehearsal Halls/Art Museum & Classroom – Porterfield Music/Art/Theater – Peters Dance Studios, Governor’s School Adjudications at RU

Friday, January 25, 8am-1pm, Performance Hall, Covington 121, 138, and 143, Incoming Student Auditions

Saturday, February 2, 8am-5pm, Performance Hall and other rooms TBD; Rebecca Orr Piano Festival

Monday, February 11, 7:30pm, Bondurant Auditorium, University Performance Series

Saturday, February 23, 8am-1pm, Performance Hall, Covington 121, 138, and 143; Incoming Student Auditions

March 9-17; Spring Break

Thursday-Friday, March 21-22, 8am-6pm, Performance Hall, Covington 121, 138, and 143; District VI Choral Assessment Festival

Sunday, March 24, 11:00am, at a local church TBD; RU Choral Ensembles Concert

March 29 - April 2, details TBD; RU Choral Ensembles Concerts and Tour

Saturday, April 6, 8am-1pm, Performance Hall/Scartelli Atrium, Covington 121, 138, and 143; Incoming Student Auditions

April 21; Easter Sunday