COBE History

The College of Business & Economics at Radford University was founded in 1978 as the School of Business & Professional Studies and obtained its current name in in 1987. The College of Business in Economics has grown substantially over the years by increasing its course offerings and degree programs, adding outreach centers, and obtaining AACSB Accreditation. In May 2010, Radford University and the College of Business & Economics broke ground for our current home, the College of Business & Economics building, which opened in Fall 2012.

Deans of the College of Business & Economics

Name Years Served
Dr. George S. Low 2014 - Present
Dr. Dennis Grady 2013 - 2014
Dr. Faye Gilbert 2008 - 2013
Dr. William Dempsey 1999 - 2008
Dr. Bruce Blaylock 1994 - 1999
Dr. Donald Kroeber 1985 - 1994
Dr. Robert Felch 1984 -1985
Dr. Lee Hall 1981-1984
Dr. Preston Durrill 1980 - 1981
Dr. Ardyce S. Lightner 1978 - 1980


COBE Building Dedication

In May 2010, Radford University broke ground on a $44 million, 110,000 square-foot home for the College of Business and Economics. View videos highlighting the groundbreaking ceremony, interior of the building, the cupola being placed, and finally the buildings opening dedication.