Dean's Scholars


A Dean’s Scholar is selected as an outstanding student representative of a major.  Dean’s Scholars are selected based on a faculty vote taking into account a variety of factors which may include but are not limited to:  GPA, exemplary character and behavior both in and out of the classroom, respect for and cooperation with others, valuing diversity, engagement in student organizations, volunteerism, self-confidence, initiative, persistence, enthusiasm, reliability, and ability to accept and use constructive criticism.

Each year the College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences honors twelve students from the various programs, but in compliance with social distancing norms, all spring events were postponed. These students worked hard to adapt to learning online, but the transition brought new challenges to each of them. We missed the opportunity to gather and celebrate the accomplishments of our seniors, but we look forward to seeing them back on campus when it is safe and healthy for us to gather again in the fall.

Congratulations to the following students:

Samantha Granzetto representing Communication
Colleen Elizabeth McNickle representing Media Studies
Alexis N. Beard representing Sociology
Kate Sundie representing Interdisciplinary Studies
Danielle S. Walls representing History
Kathleen Matthews representing Social Science
Karrah Nicole Davidson representing English
Matthew Hester representing Foreign Languages and Literatures
Dylan Bobbitt representing Philosophy and Religious Studies
Kit Reynolds representing Criminal Justice
Hunter Mundy representing Political Science
Mariah A. Campbell representing Psychology