Faculty and Staff

Offering a quality professional education in social work is the primary goal of our School. The faculty is dedicated to helping students learn in an environment in which they will be encouraged to think beyond themselves and to inquire into the most complex, yet fundamental ideas about the human condition. In addition, ideas will be tested in the arena of practical experience, through intensive field practica. The struggle with ideas followed by testing them in the real worlds provides the opportunity to explore, to grow and to become. The role of the faculty is to support, to challenge, and to help students become professional social workers who act compassionately, thoughtfully and ethically.

The faculty is the heart of the school. They embody that which is best about higher education- open minds, lively encounters, and high academic standards. We are very fortunate to have gathered a group of interesting, talented persons who serve as teachers, mentors, and advisors. Talk with them, get to know them and be prepared to stretch your mind in the process.

Tenured/Tenure-track Faculty

Diane


Diane Hodge, Ph.D., LCSW
Director
Professor
540-831-7675
dmhodge@radford.edu

 

Mongan_headshot


Philip Mongan, Ph.D., LCSW
MSW Coordinator
Associate Professor
540-831-7685
pmongan@radford.edu

Alleman_headshot


Ali-Sha Alleman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
540-831-7673
aalleman@radford.edu


sarah

Sarah Rakes, Ph.D., LCSW
BSW Program Coordinator
Assistant Professor
540-831-7674
srakes3@radford.edu

 

andrea-headshot


Andrea Barrick, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
540-831-7681
asbarrick@radford.edu

 

Susan_S_headshot


Susan Schoppelrey, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor
540-831-7692
sschoppel@radford.edu


Kerry


Kerry Fay Vandergrift, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
540-831-7676
kvandergrift@radford.edu

 

meg


Meg Lubas, Ph.D., LCSW
Assistant Professor
541-831-7694
mlubas1@radford.edu


Mingyang_headshot


Mingyang Zheng, Ph.D., LGSW
Assistant Professor
540-831-5849
mzheng2@radford.edu


Academic Faculty

Elizabeth_Arthur_headshot



Elizabeth Arthur, EdD, LCSW
Roanoke BSW Site Coordinator
earthur3@radford.edu


 

Diana_Joyce_headshot


Diana Joyce, MSW
Admissions Coordinator
540-831-7682
dsjoyce@radford.edu


Rhonda_headshot



Rhonda Roop
CRAFFT Western Area Coordinator
rroop7@radford.edu


Erica_headshot


Erica Thornton, MSW
Title IV-E Child Welfare Stipend Program Coordinator
540-831-5349
ethornton@radford.edu


Beth


Beth Deskins, MSW
Field Coordinator
540-831-7687
edeskins@radford.edu



Christie_N_Headshot


Christie Norris-Bowling, MSW
Instructor
RHEC MSW Site Coordinator
540-831-7697
cdnorris@radford.edu

placeholder_hs



Susan Taylor, MSW
CRAFFT Piedmont Area Coordinator
staylor22@radford.edu

 

Staff

Jim_headshot


Jim Quillen
Fiscal Technician
540-831-7688
jequillen@radford.edu



Cindy_headshot


Cindy Whitehead
Office Manager
540-831-7690
cwhitehea2@radford.edu



Emeritus Faculty

Dennis R. Cogswell, Ed.D.
Alice King Ingham, Ph.D. 
Debora Schneller, Ph.D. 
Etty Vandsburger, Ph.D.