2015 Spring Commencement Awards


From left to right: Robert Weintraut, Allison Longworth, Dr. Roann Barris, Keela Dooley, Carl Lefko, Lauren Faulkner, danah bella, Kayleigh Long, Al Wojtera, Chris Livernois, Dr. Holly Cline and SeDell Harman.

It was a beautiful day for graduation. The sun shined on Radford University’s May 9, 2015 Spring Commencement.

Outstanding student awards

Eight students received outstanding student plaques from the CVPA. Those who received graduate awards were: Aaron Forrester (MFA in art), Robert Weintraut (MA in music) and Allison Longworth (MS in Music). Undergraduates were: Keela Dooley (art), Kayleigh Long (dance), SeDell Harman (design), Chris Livernois (music) and Lauren Faulkner (theatre).


Graduating seniors who received scholarships for 2014-15 were:

Department of Art
Ritchel Arceta – Arts Society Scholarship
David Silva-Alvarez  – De la Burdé Scholarship
Keela Dee Dooley – Frank E. Page Scholarship, SURF Award
John Epifanio – Arts Society Scholarship
Caroline Horst  – Arts Society Scholarship
Department of Dance

Shannon Comerford – RU Academic Excellence Scholarship, Turk Arts Scholarship, and Arts Society Scholarship
Ashley Dobrogosz – Arts Society Scholarship
Kayleigh Long – Arts Society Scholarship
Kimberly Morrill – OURS (Office of Undergraduate Research and Scholarship) Travel Award Recipient
Chelsea McGinnis – RU Academic Excellence Scholarship and Turk Arts Scholarship, and Goodykoontz Scholarship Endowment in Music
Caleb Waybright – Pegeen H. and David L. Albig Dance Scholarship

Department of Design
Emily Burnette – Arts Society Scholarship
Lauren Ashley Chaney – W illiam C. & Betty J. Lusk Design Merchandising Scholarship
Rachel Drury – Covington Visual and Performing Arts Scholarship
Savannah Fender – Arts Society Scholarship, Rosalyn Lester Scholarship, and Scholar Citizen
Courtney Page Francis – Arts Society Scholarship
Alisha Gray – Arts Society Scholarship
SeDell Phyllis Harman – Arts Society Scholarship
Kelsey Huffman – Class of 1958 Scholarship
Lace Lacy – Jerry and Mary Hutchins Scholarship, Arts Society Scholarship
Sarah Mansueti – William C. & Betty J. Lusk Design Merchandising Scholarship and Kirk Scholar
Thomy Owens – Nancy Artis Scholarship – Design Competition
Shelby Paige Ruth – Arts Society Scholarship and Nancy Artis Scholarship – Senior Collection
Hannah Waldron – Nancy Artis Scholarship – Design Competition
Kristina Walker – Roanoke Electric Steel Scholarship
Ashleigh Wells – Arts Society Scholarship, Nancy Artis Scholarship – Design Competition

Department of Music
Jordan V Clark – Marion S. Gray Scholarship, Ingram-Lee Endowed Scholarship for CVPA
Molly Joy Cox – Marion S. Gray Scholarship
Robert Joseph Jordan – Bondurant Realty Corporation Scholarship
Jesse Matthew Lykins – Arts Society Scholarship
Samantha Lirose Onstad – Dr. Nicolo Lomascolo Scholarship
Charles Duston Rakes – Jill Lobach Graybeal Scholarship in Music Education
Shawn Robert Sisson – Marion S. Gray Scholarship and Mr. Dolph and Dr. Betty Martin Henry Scholarship
Jesse Virginia St. Jean – Arts Society Scholarship

Department of Theatre
Aila Boyd – Arts Society Scholarship
James Bristow – Nancy Necessary Pridemore Scholarship, Dr. James W. Hawes Scholarship and Arts Society Scholarship
Justin Dowdy – Arts Society Scholarship
Lauren Elizabeth Faulkner – George Cruise Scholarship and Dr. James W. Hawes Scholarship
Justin D. Kline – Lewyn H. Gardner Scholarship and Arts Society Scholarship
Taylor Moore – Arts Society Scholarship
Molly Jo Roan – Arts Society Scholarship

Distinguished faculty awards

Two faculty members from the Department of Art received honors from Radford University: Carlee Bradbury, associate professor of art history, and Richard Bay, professor of art education. Bradbury won the 2015 Distinguished Faculty Advising Award. Bay was honored with the Distinguished Creative Scholar Award. They will receive their awards at the 2015 fall convocation ceremony.

May 14, 2015