Faculty

Chair

Timothy L. Channell
Ed. D., Marshall University; M.B.A., West Virginia Wesleyan College; B.A., Marshall University
Professor of Music Business
tchannell@radford.edu

Faculty and Staff

Meredith Y. Bowen
D.M.A., M.M., Michigan State University; B.S. West Chester University
Assistant Professor of Music, Choral Music Education
Director of Choral Activities
mbowen16@radford.edu

W. Dayl Burnett
D.M.A., University of Miami Frost School of Music; M.A., B.A., Virginia Tech
Assistant Professor of Music, Director of Jazz Studies, (Applied Low Brass)
wdburnet@radford.edu

Matthew Cataldi
D.M.A., M.M., Indiana University; B.M., Florida State University
Assistant Professor of Music (Piano)
mcataldi@radford.edu

Lauren P. DiMaio
PhD., M.M.T., Temple University; B.M.T., Berklee College of Music
Assistant Professor of Music (Music Therapy)
ldimaio3@radford.edu

Wayne Gallops
Ph.D., University of South Florida; M.M.E., Florida State University; B.M., University of Tampa
Professor, Director of Bands (Conducting), Instrumental Music Education
rgallops@radford.edu

Robert Glarner
Ph.D., University of Arizona; M.A., University of Wyoming; B.M., Case Western Reserve University and The Cleveland Institute of Music
Associate Professor (Music Theory)
rglarner@radford.edu

Kristopher D. Hale
M.A., B.M., Radford University
Instructor Part-time (Guitar)
kris@kristopherhale.com

Sekyung Jang
Ph.D., University of Kansas; M.M., Colorado State University; B.A., Utah State University
Assistant Professor (Music Therapy)
sjang5@radford.edu

Sheldon Johnson
D.M.A., University of South Carolina; M.M., Bowling Green State University; B.M., Northwestern University
Instructor Part-time (Saxophone)
sjohnson246@radford.edu

Jeffrey Kresge
M.M., Boston Conservatory; B.M., Fredonia State University
Instructor Part-time (Trumpet, French Horn, Brass Ensembles)
jkresge@radford.edu
 
Vladimir Kromin
Diploma, (Master's and Bachelor's degrees), A.V. Nezhdanova Odessa State Conservatory, Ukraine
Instructor Part-time (Violin, Viola, Chamber Orchestra)
vkromin@radford.edu

Jennifer S. McDonel
Ph.D., University at Buffalo; M.A., Eastman School of Music; B.M.E., The Ohio State University
Director of Music Education
Assistant Professor of Music (Elementary Music, Music Literacy)
jmcdonel2@radford.edu

Bruce P. Mahin
D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music, The Johns Hopkins University; M.M., Northwestern University; B.M., West Virginia University
Professor (Composition, Music Theory)
bmahin@radford.edu

Rebecca Meisel
B.M., Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester
Instructor, part-time (Bassoon)
rmeisel@radford.edu

Cara Modisett
B.M., James Madison University School of Music
Staff Collaborative Pianist
cmodisett@radford.edu

William Parrish
Artist Diploma, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music; M.M., The University of the Arts in Philadelphia; B.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University
Instructor, part-time (Oboe)
bill.parrish@aol.com

David T. Perry
Artist Diploma, Yale School of Music; Artist Diploma, Royal Conservatory of Music (Toronto); MM, University of Toronto; BM, University of Wyoming
Instructor, part-time (Clarinet)
dperry30@Radford.edu

David Rivers
M.S. Belmont University; B.S. James Madison University
Director of Music Business/Assistant Professor of Music Business
drivers7@radford.edu

Robert Sanderl
D.M.A., M.M., Eastman School of Music; B.M., Crane School of Music
Associate Professor (Percussion, Percussion Ensemble, Music Education)
rsanderl@radford.edu

Peter Shanahan
M.M., Indiana University
Instructor, part-time (Flute)
pshanahan@radford.edu

Robert S. Trent
D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music, The Johns Hopkins University; M.A., Trenton State College; B.M., Philadelphia College of Performing Arts
Professor (Guitar and Lute, Guitar Ensemble), Coordinator of Graduate Music Program
rstrent@radford.edu

Patricia Winter
Ph.D., Temple University; M.M.T., Temple University; B.S., Elizabethtown College
Associate Professor (Music Therapy), Director of Music Therapy
pwinter3@radford.edu

David A. Zuschin
Ph.D., Kent State University; M.M., Yale University; B.M., Kent State University
Associate Professor (Music History)
dzuschin@radford.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Jack R. Barnard
Ph.D., Florida State University; M.M., University of North Texas; B.M.E., Murray State College
Associate Professor Emeritus (Music Education, Music Theory)
jbarnard@radford.edu

James E. Borling
M.M., University of Miami; B.M., DePauw University
Professor Emeritus of Music Therapy (Retired)
jborling@radford.edu

David Otis Castonguay
Doctoral Studies, University of Illinois; M.A., B.S., University of Connecticut
Associate Professor Emeritus, Director (Choral Activities)
dcastong@radford.edu

Caryl Conger
M.M., B.M., Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music-University of Kentucky
Associate Professor Emeritus, Director of Accompanying (Piano)
cconger@radford.edu

Eugene C. Fellin
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin; M.M., University of Michigan; B.F.A., University of Wisconsin
Professor Emeritus, Chairman (Musicology, Chamber Orchestra)
efellin@radford.edu

Mildred M. Heimlich
M.S.M., Union Theological Seminary; M.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; B.A., Geneva College
Associate Professor Emeritus (Voice, Organ)

Clarity James
M.M., Indiana University; B.M., University of Wyoming
Professor Emeritus (Voice, Opera Workshop)
cjames@radford.edu

Nitza Kats
M.F.A., University of Minnesota; Teaching Certificate, Artist Diploma, Rubin Academy of Music, Jerusalem, Israel
Associate Professor Emeritus (Piano, Accompanying)
nkats@radford.edu

Marilyn Meador
Ph.D., University of North Texas; M.M., Southern Illinois University; B.S., Middle Tennessee State University
Professor Emeritus, Director of Music Education (Music Education and Organ)
mmeador@radford.edu


Kathryn G. Obenshain
Ed.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; M.S., Radford University; B.A., Mary Washington College
Professor Emeritus (Piano and Piano Pedagogy, Director of Community Arts School)

George D. Parish
Ph.D., University of Michigan; M.M., Converse College; B.M.E., University of Southwestern Louisiana
Professor Emeritus (Musicology, Music Theory and Tuba)
gparish@radford.edu

David B. Phillips
D.M.A., M.M. (piano), M.M. (composition), University of Michigan; B.M., George Peabody College
Professor Emeritus (Piano and Composition)
dphillip@radford.edu

Joseph P. Scartelli
Ph.D., M.M., University of Miami; B.S., Mansfield University
Former Provost,
CVPA Dean Emeritus,
Professor (Music Therapy) Emeritus
jscartel@radford.edu

Lewis R. Sheckler
Ed.D., M.S., University of Illinois; B.S., Olivet Nazarene College
Professor Emeritus (Music Education)

Allen Wojtera
MM, Northwestern University; BME, Central Connecticut State Univesrity
Professor Emeritus, Chairman (Percussion)
awojtera@radford.edu