Faculty

Chairperson

Wayne Gallops
Ph.D., University of South Florida; M.M.E., Florida State University; B.M., University of Tampa
Chairperson, Professor of Music, Conducting, Instrumental Music Education, Executive Director Summer Residential Governor's School for Visual& Performing Arts and Humanities
rgallops@radford.edu

Faculty and Staff

Shelley Axelson
D.M.A Northwestern University; M.A. Michigan; B.M.E. University of South Florida
Interim Director of Bands, Instrumental Music Education, Conducting
saxelson1@radford.edu

Denise Bernardini
D.M.A., University of Oklahoma; M.M., Texas Christian University; B.M.E., East Central University of Oklahoma
Assistant Professor of Music, Voice, Opera Workshop
dbernardini1@radford.edu

Don Bernardini
M.M., Indiana University Jacobs School of Music; B.A., Virginia Military Institute
Instructor (Voice)
djbernardini@radford.edu

Meredith Y. Bowen
D.M.A., M.M., Michigan State University; B.S. West Chester University
Associate Professor of Music, Choral Music Education
Director of Choral Activities
mbowen16@radford.edu

W. Dayl Burnett
D.M.A., University of Miami Frost School of Music; M.A., B.A., Virginia Tech
Associate Professor of Music, Director of Jazz Studies and Applied Low Brass
wdburnet@radford.edu

Matthew Cataldi
D.M., M.M., Indiana University; B.M., Florida State University
Assistant Professor of Music, Piano, Chamber Ensembles
mcataldi@radford.edu

Timothy L. Channell
Ed.D., Marshall University; M.B.A., West Virginia Wesleyan College; B.A., Marshall University
Professor of Music Business and Assistant Provost for Budget and Academic Operations
tchannell@radford.edu

Robert Glarner
Ph.D., University of Arizona; M.A., University of Wyoming; B.M., Case Western Reserve University and The Cleveland Institute of Music. Associate Professor of Music, Music Theory  rglarner@radford.edu

Ryan Graebert
D.M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro, M.M., Cleveland Institute of Music, B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
Instructor (Cello)
ryan.graebert@gmail.com

Donald Hall
M.A., B.M., Radford University
Instructor  (Double Bass)
dlhall@RADFORD.EDU

Sekyung Jang
Ph.D., University of Kansas; M.M., Colorado State University; B.A., Utah State University. Assistant Profesor, Director of Music Therapy. sjang5@radford.edu

Sheldon Johnson
D.M.A., University of South Carolina; M.M., Bowling Green State University; B.M., Northwestern University
Instructor (Saxophone)
sjohnson246@radford.edu

David Mathews Jones
A.B.D. University of North Carolina Greensboro, M.A. Radford University; B.A.., Radford University. Instructor (Organ)                                                    davorgan1998@yahoo.com

Edward Knoeckel
D.M.A George Mason University; M.A. University of South Florida, M.M.E. University of Bridgeport; B.A. Univ. of Connecticut
Instructor (Theory, Composition, Ear Training & Sight Singing)
eknoeckel@radford.edu

Jeffrey Kresge
M.M., Boston Conservatory; B.M., Fredonia State University
Instructor  (Trumpet, French Horn, Brass Ensembles)
jkresge@radford.edu
 

Jennifer S. McDonel
Ph.D., University at Buffalo; M.A., Eastman School of Music; B.M.E., The Ohio State University
Director of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music, Elementary Music, Music Literacy
jmcdonel2@radford.edu

Bruce P. Mahin
D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music, The Johns Hopkins University; M.M., Northwestern University; B.M., West Virginia University
Professor of Music, Composition, Music Theory
bmahin@radford.edu

William Newton
M.M., Eastman School of Music; B.M., University of South Carolina
Instructor  (Percussion, Percussion Ensembles)
williamnewtonpercussion@gmail.com

William Parrish
Artist Diploma, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music; M.M., The University of the Arts in Philadelphia; B.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University . Instructor (Oboe) bill.parrish@aol.com

Amanda Raymond
M.M., Cincinatti Conservatory, B.M. Univ. Southern Maine
Instructor (Class Piano, Collaborative Pianist )
anraymond@radford.edu             

David Rivers.  
M.M. Belmont University; B.S. James Madison University. Director of Music Business/Assistant Professor of Music Business. 
drivers7@radford.edu

Rachel Rotert
M.M. Colorado State; B.S. Drury University. Assistant Professor of Music Therapy
rrotert@radford.edu

Robert Sanderl
D.M.A., M.M., Eastman School of Music; B.M., Crane School of Music
 Professor of Music, Percussion, Percussion Ensemble, Music Education
rsanderl@radford.edu

Peter Shanahan
M.M., Indiana University; B.M., University of North Carolina School of the Arts. Instructor (Flute)                                                      pshanahan@radford.edu

Erica Sipes. M.M., B.M., Eastman School of Music
Collaborative Pianist, Ensembles Coach.
ericasipes1@gmail.com

Dan Skidmore D.M.A. Univ of North Carolina Greensboro, MM West Virginia Univ., BM Northwestern Univ. Instructor (Violin, Chamber Orchestra)  danskidmore@yahoo.com

Robert S. Trent
D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music, The Johns Hopkins University; M.A., Trenton State College; B.M., Philadelphia College of Performing Arts
Professor of Music, Guitar and Lute, Guitar Ensemble, B.A. Program Director, Coordinator of Graduate Music Program  rstrent@radford.edu

Elisha Willinger  D.M.A. University of Michigan, MM Yale University, BM Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, Royal Conservatory’s Glenn Gould School in Toronto.  Instructor (Clarinet). lisha.w28@gmail.com

Rebecca Wilson
B.M., Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester
Instructor (Bassoon)
rwilson1@radford.edu

David A. Zuschin Ph.D., Kent State University; M.M., Yale University; B.M., Kent State University Associate Professor, Music History dzuschin@radford.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Jack R. Barnard
Ph.D., Florida State University; M.M., University of North Texas; B.M.E., Murray State College
Associate Professor Emeritus (Music Education, Music Theory)
jbarnard@radford.edu

James E. Borling
M.M., University of Miami; B.M., DePauw University
Professor Emeritus of Music Therapy (Retired)
jborling@radford.edu

David Otis Castonguay
Doctoral Studies, University of Illinois; M.A., B.S., University of Connecticut
Associate Professor Emeritus, Director (Choral Activities)
dcastong@radford.edu

Caryl Conger
M.M., B.M., Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music-University of Kentucky
Associate Professor Emeritus, Director of Accompanying (Piano)
cconger@radford.edu

Eugene C. Fellin
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin; M.M., University of Michigan; B.F.A., University of Wisconsin
Professor Emeritus, Chairman (Musicology, Chamber Orchestra)
efellin@radford.edu

Mildred M. Heimlich
M.S.M., Union Theological Seminary; M.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; B.A., Geneva College
Associate Professor Emeritus (Voice, Organ)

Clarity James
M.M., Indiana University; B.M., University of Wyoming
Professor Emeritus (Voice, Opera Workshop)
cjames@radford.edu

Nitza Kats
M.F.A., University of Minnesota; Teaching Certificate, Artist Diploma, Rubin Academy of Music, Jerusalem, Israel
Associate Professor Emeritus (Piano, Accompanying)
nkats@radford.edu

Marilyn Meador
Ph.D., University of North Texas; M.M., Southern Illinois University; B.S., Middle Tennessee State University
Professor Emeritus, Director of Music Education (Music Education and Organ)
mmeador@radford.edu


Kathryn G. Obenshain
Ed.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; M.S., Radford University; B.A., Mary Washington College
Professor Emeritus (Piano and Piano Pedagogy, Director of Community Arts School)

George D. Parish
Ph.D., University of Michigan; M.M., Converse College; B.M.E., University of Southwestern Louisiana
Professor Emeritus (Musicology, Music Theory and Tuba)
gparish@radford.edu

David B. Phillips
D.M.A., M.M. (piano), M.M. (composition), University of Michigan; B.M., George Peabody College
Professor Emeritus (Piano and Composition)
dphillip@radford.edu

Joseph P. Scartelli
Ph.D., M.M., University of Miami; B.S., Mansfield University
Former Provost,
CVPA Dean Emeritus,
Professor (Music Therapy) Emeritus
jscartel@radford.edu

Lewis R. Sheckler
Ed.D., M.S., University of Illinois; B.S., Olivet Nazarene College
Professor Emeritus (Music Education)

Allen Wojtera
MM, Northwestern University; BME, Central Connecticut State Univesrity
Professor Emeritus, Chairman (Percussion)
awojtera@radford.edu