Faculty and Staff

Chair of the Department

Dr. Robert Williams
Hemphill 4123
540-831-5628
rohwilli@radford.edu

Administrative Assistant

Mrs. Holly Whipp
Hemphill 4113
540-831-6458
hwhipp@radford.edu

Full-Time Faculty in the Department of English

Email addresses for full-time and adjunct faculty members are listed below. Phone numbers for full-time faculty are located in the campus directory

Dr. Justin Askins
Professor
Hemphill 4135
jaskins@radford.edu

Dr. David Beach
Associate Professor/SPF 
Hemphill 4121
dbeach6@radford.edu

Dr. Theresa Burriss
Associate Professor & Director of Appalachian Studies
Cook Hall 227
tburriss@radford.edu

Dr. Laurie Cubbison
Professor & GTF Mentoring Program Coordinator
Hemphill 4105
lcubbiso@radford.edu

Dr. Kevin Farrell
Associate Professor
RUC 926
kfarrell2@radford.edu

Dr. Kim Gainer
Professor & Associate Dean of the College for Humanities and Behavioral Sciences
Hemphill 3405
kgainer@radford.edu

Dr. Louis Gallo
Professor
Hemphill 4133
lgallo@radford.edu

Dr. Katie Garahan
Assistant Professor & Director of the Writing Center
Hemphill 4801
klgarahan@radford.edu

Dr. Paige Horst
Assistant Professor
Hemphill 4119
phorst@radford.edu

Ms. Justine Jackson Stone
Assistant Director of the Writing Center/SPF
Hemphill 4111
jjackson134@radford.edu

Dr. Sean Keck
Assistant Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
Hemphill 4122
skeck@radford.edu

Dr. Amanda Kellogg
Associate Professor
Hemphill 4103
akellogg1@radford.edu

Dr. Jamie McDaniel
Associate Professor
Hemphill 4125
jmcdaniel30@radford.edu

Dr. Frank Napolitano
Associate Professor
Hemphill 4102
fnapolitano@radford.edu

Dr. Michele Ren
Associate Professor/SPF
Hemphill 4107
mren2@radford.edu

Dr. Amy Rubens
Associate Professor & Interim Associate Dean of the College of Graduate Studies and Research
Whitt Hall 105
arubens@radford.edu

Ms. Nancy Taylor
Senior Instructor/SPF
Hemphill 4101
ntaylor@radford.edu

Dr. Rick Van Noy
Professor
Hemphill 4129
rvannoy@radford.edu

Dr. Laura Vernon
Associate Professor & Co-Coordinator of the Graduate Certificate in Professional Writing
Hemphill 4131
lvernon@radford.edu

Dr. Courtney Watson
Associate Professor
RUC 927
cwatson1@radford.edu

Dr. Jolanta Wawrzycka
Professor
Hemphill 4117
jolanta@radford.edu

Dr. Dan Woods
Associate Professor & Coordinator of the English Education Program
Hemphill 4127
drwoods@radford.edu


 

Adjunct Faculty

Mr. Andrew Akers
aakers6@radford.edu

Dr. Caroline Alphin
calphin@radford.edu

Ms. April Asbury
aasbury@radford.edu

Ms. Erika Bass
enicolas3@radford.edu

Mr. Fredrick Brindle
fwbrindle@radford.edu

Mr. Mark Burnette
maaburne@radford.edu

Ms. ZK (Kathy) Combiths
kcombith@radford.edu

Mr. David Cook
dcook31@radford.edu

Mr. Richard Gilbert
rgilbert13@radford.edu

Mrs. Lori Cole Graham
lgraham4@radford.edu

Ms. Selena Hillenberg
shillenbe@radford.edu

Dr. Emily Keck
ekeck1@radford.edu

 

Mr. Matthew Madre
mmadre@radford.edu

Ms. Jessica Mattox
jmattox3@radford.edu

Ms. Elisabeth Murphy
emurphy30@radford.edu

Mr. Scott McReynolds
psmcreyno@radford.edu

Mr. Austin McGrady
amcgrady4@radford.edu

Ms. Rachel Overbay
roverbay@radford.edu

Mr. Jordan Owens
jowens9@radford.edu

Mr. David Phipps
dphipps6@radford.edu

Mr. Jacob Matthew Retting
jretting@radford.edu

Ms. Shaylin Surratt
sstill@radford.edu

Ms. Kimberly Wells
kwells3@radford.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Emeritus status is awarded to retired faculty members who have demonstrated a distinguished record of teaching, scholarship, and service while employed at Radford University. Learn more about the faculty emeriti affiliated with the Department of English.