COBE honors students; inducts 19 into BGS honor society

Radford University’s College of Business and Economics (COBE) inducted 19 student members into its Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honor society chapter in an April 26 ceremony at Kyle Hall.
Nineteen new members were inducted into the Beta Gamma Sigma honor society in an April 26 ceremony at Kyle Hall.

Radford University’s College of Business and Economics (COBE) inducted 19 student members into its Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honor society chapter in an April 26 ceremony at Kyle Hall.

The International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes academic excellence at the world's top business schools – those accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Since its founding in 1913, BGS has established more than 525 collegiate chapters in 22 countries.

Membership into Radford’s BGS chapter is limited to COBE juniors and seniors who rank in the top 10 percent of their class and MBA students in the top 20 percent.

“There is no greater honor that can be bestowed by the College of Business and Economics than to invite our students to join Beta Gamma Sigma,” COBE Associate Dean Steve Beach said to the inductees. “You are the best of the best.”

Senior inductees included:                                               

  • Athena Beidler, Accounting and Finance
  • Ryan David, Accounting
  • Reagan Elkins, Accounting
  • Brenton Langston, Finance
  • Tyler Myers, Accounting

Junior inductees included:

  • Laith Abueznaid, Marketing
  • Nicholas Burleigh, Economics and Marketing
  • Christopher Dix, Accounting and Finance
  • Valerie Gonzalez, Management
  • Catherine Longo, Economics and Management
  • Christopher Maynes, Finance
  • Stetson Miller, Finance
  • Matthew Neville, Accounting and Finance
  • Kathryn Penny, Accounting
  • Ana Revollo, Accounting
  • Jakob Strandsaeter, Management and Marketing
  • Jarid Weddle, Marketing

Marina Cvetkovic and Curtis Wisely were the graduate student inductees.

Management Professor Steve Childers was the BGS faculty inductee.

Chapter President Alicia Harris, a senior, spoke to the inductees, saying “Because of what you have achieved in scholarship and service, we are honored to have you join us.”

BGS members installed new officers for the 2018-19 academic year. They are Reagan Elkins, Jennifer Falconer, Valerie Gonzalez, Jacqueline Trabosh and Jarid Wade.

Faculty advisor Angela Stanton recognized individuals who served as officers for 2017-18. Those were Harris, Catelyn Crump, Natalie Sayer, Jordan Toohey and Claudia Quevedo Padilla.

“I’d like to personally thank you for taking this on and working with us this past year,” Stanton said. “We appreciate your service to the organization.”

Stanton presented a Beta Gamma Sigma medallion to the out-going officers as a “symbol of excellence,” she said.

The BGS inductees were among the students recognized later that night at the COBE Spring Honors Program in Kyle Hall 340. Alpha Mu Alpha, Beta Alpha Psi, Omicron Delta Epsilon and Sigma Iota Epsilon also received honors recognition.

COBE Outstanding Student Awards were given to individuals who had been selected by faculty as being outstanding in their discipline. Awards were presented to:

  • Nick Leeman, Accounting
  • Daniel Ceglowski, Finance
  • Denise Urban, Economics
  • Fraser Colmer, Management
  • Katherine Annetti, Marketing
  • Marina Cvetkovic, Full-time MBA
  • Leah Doepke, Part-time MBA
  • Brianna Monroe-Gregory, COBE Student Service Award
  • Christopher Boggs, COBE Dean’s Award
  • Daniel Ceglowski, Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key
  • Alicia Harris, COBE Scholar Award
  • Natalie Sayer, COBE Outstanding Student Award

Economics Assistant Professor Dan Farhat received the COBE Faculty of the Year Award. The college honored Marquett Smith ’85 with its Alumni of the Year Award. Smith is former senior vice president and area vice president for Verizon Wireless. He currently is an advising partner for the Wireless Insiders Network, a specialized business development company.

“Marquett represents the best of Radford University alumni,” Beach said.

COBE also honored Accounting Professor Lynn Saubert with its Professor of the Year Award, which is selected by the college’s students. Saubert is retiring at the conclusion of the spring semester.


May 7, 2018
Chad Osborne