Faculty By Area

Bands

Shelley Axelson
D.M.A Northwestern University; M.A. Michigan; B.M.E. University of South Florida
Interim Director of Bands, Instrumental Music Education, Conducting
saxelson1@radford.edu

Wayne Gallops
Ph.D., University of South Florida; M.M.E., Florida State University; B.M., University of Tampa
Professor, Department Chair, Instrumental Music Education
rgallops@radford.edu

Go to Bands

Brass

W. Dayl Burnett
D.M.A., University of Miami Frost School of Muisc; B.A. and
M.A., Virginia Tech
Associate Professor of Music, Director of Jazz Studies, Applied Low Brass
wdburnet@radford.edu

Jeffrey Kresge
M.M., Boston Conservatory; B.M., Fredonia State University
Instructor  (Trumpet, Horn, Brass Techniques, Brass Ensembles, Conducting)
jkresge@radford.edu

Choral Ensembles

Meredith Y. Bowen
D.M.A., M.M., Michigan State University; B.S. West Chester University
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities
mbowen16@radford.edu
Go to choral ensembles

Composition

Edward Knoeckel
D.M.A George Mason University; M.A. University of South Florida, M.M.E. University of Bridgeport; B.A. Univ. of Connecticut
Instructor (Theory, Composition, Ear Training & Sight Singing)
eknoeckel@radford.edu

Robert Glarner
Ph.D., University of Arizona; M.A., University of Wyoming; B.M., Case Western Reserve University and The Cleveland Institute of Music
Associate Professor (Music Theory)
rglarner@radford.edu

Bruce P. Mahin
D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music, The Johns Hopkins University; M.M., Northwestern University; B.M., West Virginia University
Professor (Composition, Music Theory)
bmahin@radford.edu

Guitar

Robert S. Trent D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music, The Johns Hopkins University; M.A., Trenton State College; B.M., Philadelphia College of Performing Arts Professor (Guitar and Lute, Guitar Ensemble)

rstrent@radford.edu

Go to guitar ensembles

Jazz Ensemble

W. Dayl Burnett
D.M.A., University of Miami Frost School of Muisc; M.A. and B.A., Virginia Tech
Associate Professor of Music, Director of Jazz Studies, Applied Low Brass
wdburnet@radford.edu

Go to jazz ensembles

Music Business

David Rivers
M.S. Belmont University; B.S. James Madison University
Director of Music Business/Assistant Professor of Music Business
drivers7@radford.edu

Timothy L. Channell
Ed. D., Marshall University; M.B.A., West Virginia Wesleyan College; B.A., Marshall University
Assistant Provost for Budget and Operations
Professor of Music Business
tchannell@radford.edu

Music Education

Shelley Axelson
D.M.A Northwestern University; M.A. Michigan; B.M.E. University of South Florida
Interim Director of Bands, Instrumental Music Education, Conducting
saxelson1@radford.edu

Meredith Y. Bowen
D.M.A., M.M., Michigan State University; B.S. West Chester University
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities
mbowen16@radford.edu

Wayne Gallops
Ph.D., University of South Florida; M.M.E., Florida State University; B.M., University of Tampa
Professor, Director of Bands (Conducting), Instrumental Music Education
rgallops@radford.edu

Jennifer S. McDonel
Ph.D., University at Buffalo; M.A., Eastman School of Music; B.M.E., The Ohio State University
Director of Music Education
Associate Professor of Music (Elementary Music, Music Literacy)
jmcdonel2@radford.edu

 

Music History

David A. Zuschin
Ph.D., Kent State University, M.M., Yale University; B.M., Kent State University
Associate Professor (Music History)
dzuschin@radford.edu

Music Technology

Bruce P. Mahin
D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music, The Johns Hopkins University; M.M., Northwestern University;
B.M., West Virginia University
Professor (Composition, Music Theory)
bmahin@radford.edu

David Rivers
M.S. Belmont University; B.S. James Madison University
Director of Music Business/Assistant Professor of Music Business
drivers7@radford.edu

 

Music Theory

Edward Knoeckel
D.M.A George Mason University; M.A. University of South Florida, M.M.E. University of Bridgeport; B.A. Univ. of Connecticut
Instructor (Theory, Composition, Ear Training & Sight Singing)
eknoeckel@radford.edu

Robert Lewis Glarner
Ph.D., University of Arizona; M.A., University of Wyoming;
B.M., Case Western Reserve University and The Cleveland Institute of Music
Associate Professor (Music Theory)
rglarner@radford.edu

Music Therapy

Sekyung Jang
Ph.D., University of Kansas; M.M., Colorado State University; B.A., Utah State University
Assistant Professor (Music Therapy)
sjang5@radford.edu

Rachel Rotert
M.M. Colorado State; B.S. Drury University. Assistant Professor of Music Therapy
rrotert@radford.edu

Percussion

William Newton
M.M., Eastman School of Music; B.M., University of South Carolina
Instructor  (Percussion, Percussion Ensembles)
williamnewtonpercussion@gmail.com

Robert Sanderl
DMA, M.M., Eastman School of Music; B.M., Crane School of Music
Professor (Percussion, Percussion Ensemble, Music Education)
rsanderl@radford.edu

Go to percussion ensembles

Piano / Organ

Matthew Cataldi
D.M., M.M., Indiana University; B.M., Florida State University
Assistant Professor of Music
mcataldi@radford.edu

David Mathews Jones
A.B.D. University of North Carolina Greensboro, M.A. Radford University; B.A.., Radford University. Instructor (Organ)                                              davorgan1998@yahoo.com

Erica Sipes
M.M., B.M., Eastman School of Music
Collaborative Pianist 
ericasipes1@gmail.com

Amanda Raymond
M.M., Cincinatti Conservatory, B.M. Univ. Southern Maine
Instructor (Class Piano, Collaborative Pianist )
anraymond@radford.edu                   

Strings

Ryan Graebert
D.M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro, M.M., Cleveland Institute of Music, B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
instructor  (Cello)
ryan.graebert@gmail.com

Donald L. Hall
M.A., B.M., Radford University
Instructor  (String Bass)
dlhall@radford.edu

Dan Skidmore
D.M.A. Univ of North Carolina Greensboro, MM West Virginia Univ., BM Northwestern Univ.                                                                Instructor of Violin and Chamber Orchestra. danskidmore@yahoo.com

 

Voice

Meredith Y. Bowen
D.M.A., M.M., Michigan State University; B.S. West Chester University
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities
mbowen16@radford.edu

Denise Bernardini
D.M.A., University of Oklahoma; M.M., Texas Christian University; B.M.E., East Central University of Oklahoma
Assistant Professor of Music, (Voice, Opera Workshop)
dbernardini1@radford.edu

Don Bernardini
M.M., Indiana University Jacobs School of Music; B.A., Virginia Military Institute
Instructor (Voice)
djbernardini@radford.edu

Woodwinds

Sheldon Johnson
D.M.A., University of South Carolina; M.A., Bowling Green State University; B.M., Northwestern University
Instructor  (Saxophone)
sheldonjohnson87@gmail.com

Rebecca Meisel
B.M., Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester
Instructor (Bassoon)
rmeisel@radford.edu

William Parrish
Artist Diploma, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music; M.M., The University of the Arts in Philadelphia; B.F.A., Carnegie Mellon University. Instructor (Oboe)
bill.parrish@aol.com

Peter Shanahan M.M., Indiana University. Instructor (Flute). pshanahan@radford.edu

Elisha Willinger  D.M.A. University of Michigan, MM Yale University, BM Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, Royal Conservatory’s Glenn Gould School in Toronto.  Instructor (Clarinet). lisha.w28@gmail.com