Undergraduate Programs

The school offers two Bachelor of Science degrees (Computer Science or Information Systems), three minors (Computer Science, Information Systems, or Information Technology), two undergraduate certificates (cyber security and web development) and an online degree completion program. 

Students in the school will earn a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Science and Technology or Information Science and Systems. Both programs prepare students for a variety of careers in industry and government and for graduate study. Within the Computer Science and Technology degree program students can choose among four Concentrations: Computer Science, Database, Networks, and Software Engineering. In the Information Science and Systems program two Concentrations are available: Information Systems and Web Development.


Radford's Computer Science, Information Systems, and Web Development Concentrations are accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commision of ABET, www.abet.org. Such accreditation is based of the evaluation of the department's faculty, curriculum, computing resources, students and institutional support.

The college requires its students to use multiple platforms and to learn multiple languages (Java and Javascript). Many students go on and take coursework in other languages (e.g. C++, PHP, Ada) and specialized platforms appropriate to their concentration. In this way, graduates of the program have a diverse background and are better able to handle the rapid change of pace in the industry.

Department Core Requirements

All students enrolled in the college must complete the following core requirements:

Information Technology 18
ITEC 110. Principles of Information Technology 3
ITEC 120. Principles of Computer Science I 4
ITEC 220. Principles of Computer Science II 4
ITEC 225. Web Programming 3
ITEC 345. Introduction to Information Security 3
ITEC 490. Senior Seminar 1
Core Education Requirements 36

Complete ITEC Course Listing