COBE honors and celebrates its extraordinary students

Radford University's College of Business and Economics celebrated the remarkable achievements of its students Nov. 17 with two ceremonies in the COBE Building.

The evening began with the Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honor society induction ceremony in COBE 320 and was followed by the annual Fall Honors Program in the COBE Multipurpose Room.

The International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes academic excellence at the world's top business schools – those accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Since its founding in 1913, BGS has established more than 525 collegiate chapters around the world.

Membership in the BGS is limited to COBE juniors and seniors who rank in the top 10 percent of their class and MBA students in the top 20 percent.

"Only the top 5 percent of business schools in the world are AACSB accredited, and only the top percentage of students at those schools are invited to become members of Beta Gamma Sigma," said COBE Dean George Low. "Thus we honor the best of the best this evening. We are proud of you, and congratulations for this achievement. Well done."

Rodrigo Hernandez, an associate professor of finance, added, "You are the best of the best. You are the type of students we faculty want in our classes."

Senior inductees included R. Elaine Bland (Accounting), Lucie Bouchet (Accounting), Alexis Calero (Management), Halle Gamble (Management and Marketing), Jessica Macht (Management), Garrett Osborne (Management), Zak Pritchett (Marketing), Alyssa Pull (Marketing), Reid Shores (Accounting), Zachary Turk (Economics), Rick Van Harn (Accounting) and Bryan Yanchulis (Accounting).

Junior inductees included Nicholas Brediger (Management), George Fechko (Management and Marketing), Alanna Ferguson (Management), David Hedgepeth (Finance), Rebekah Morgan (Management), Savannah Pullen (Accounting and Finance), Avery Trent (Accounting and Finance), Shannon Triebwasser (Accounting and Finance), Kelsey Van Asch (Accounting and Finance) and Kentaro Yokoyama (Accounting and Finance).

Graduate student inductees included Juliann Miller, Eric Tucker, Logan Van Asch and Justin Willard.

"Welcome to Beta Gamma Sigma," Low said at the ceremony's conclusion. "You are now lifetime members."

Following the BGS induction, the night's festivities moved down the third-floor hallway to the Multipurpose Room for a ceremony to recognize student organizations and the achievement of individual students.

Each spring and fall semester, the college honors those students who have "given extra and should be rewarded for a job well done," Low said to open the honors ceremony. "Tonight we celebrate excellence and honor achievement."

COBE Outstanding Student Awards were given to:

  • Madeline Kronberger, Accounting
  • Kelly Albert, Economics
  • Mary Kronberger, Finance
  • Alexis Calero, Management
  • Thomas Gallagher, Marketing
  • Krzysztof Nalborski, Full time MBA
  • Deborah Saunders, Professional MBA

Bradlee Rogers, a junior accounting major from Springfield, was recognized for being a recipient of the Virginia Government Finance Officers' Association (VGFOA) Andrew T. Pettigrew Student Scholarship award. AssistantPprofessor of Accounting Ann Shawver presented Rogers with a certificate.


The 2015 COBE Outstanding Student award-winners

Dec 17, 2015