RU Honors Student Achievers at Awards Ceremony

Students who go above and beyond as scholars and leaders were honored Friday at Radford University's 2012 student awards ceremony and reception.

"This is a group of students of which the entire university is proud," said President Penelope W. Kyle as she welcomed honorees and their families to the ceremony. "Radford University could not be what it is without your involvement."

Mark Shanley, RU's vice president for student affairs, presented the highest honor, the Outstanding Student Award, to juniors Don "Randall" Carter, Jessica Frazelle, Patrick Manges and Mazin Rayes;  seniors Hannah Anderson, Sidney Epperly, Kiersten Newtoff, Megan Rhodes and Paige Waddell; and graduate students Jonathan Cin and Amanda Vosloh.

"This award is presented to students who have excelled in promoting the true spirit and ideals of Radford University," said Shanley.

Outstanding Student Award recipients

The 2012 Outstanding Student Award winners (left to right): Sidney Epperly; Patrick Manges; Jessica Frazelle; Hannah Anderson; Paige Waddell; Megan Rhodes; Kiersten Newtoff; Mazin Rayes; Amanda Vosloh and Jonathan Cin. Not pictured is Don "Randall" Carter.

Winners of the Outstanding Student Awards are chosen based on their positive contributions academically and in three major areas of achievement: contributions to the community, published papers, conference or workshop presentations, a role in a university production, participation in student government, athletics, or leadership or substantial time commitment to the university or the greater community. Winning students also must maintain a GPA of 3.2 for freshmen, 3.3 for sophomores, 3.4 for juniors, 3.5 for seniors and 3.7 for graduate students.

As an instructor for Radford University's LEAD 110 course, Ken Bonk, associate vice president of student affairs and director of student activities, recognized graduating LEAD Scholars: Nikalas Barton, Nicole Chambati, Amy Corbin, Amanda Greenwood, Stephanie House-Niamke, Emily Latimer, Hannah Link, Ashley Maness, Kiersten Newtoff, Randi-Lyn Randall and George Reutter.

"Radford University's student leadership program—known as the LEAD Scholars program—stands for Leadership through Excellence, Academics and Development," Bonk explained.

Through hands-on experience, the program aims to promote active involvement and community engagement through creative and critical thinking, problem and solution analysis, and discovery and growth of individual leadership styles, he said. "It is an interdisciplinary, comprehensive program designed to help students learn about the theories and practices of leadership. It requires an obligation of education, student development and experiential learning."

Don Appiarius, dean of students and associate vice president for student affairs, recognized students selected for Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Founded in 1934, the program selects members based on academic achievement, participation in co-curricular activities, citizenship and demonstrated leadership.

Students receiving "Who's Who" honors were Hannah Anderson, Sarah Kathryn Barton, Taylor Bikowski, Kayla Black, Samantha Brauer, Ashleigh Bush, Don "Randall" Carter, Kacey Chenault, Sidney Epperly, Lakisha Ferguson, Ben Gallas, Jamilla Gunter, Rebecca Harrison, Allison Hinke, Brianna Kirker, Cassidy Lawson, Susan Martin, Candice Nelson, Kiersten Newtoff, Mazin Rayes, Megan Rhodes, Paige Waddell, Danielle Watson and Kirnelius Williams.

"Students who are selected must have made positive contributions to the RU campus life and to the development of RU by personal examples and leadership," Appiarius said.

Jerry Lester, assistant director of financial aid, presented the H.S. "Buddy" and Janet N. Johnston Outstanding Student Worker Awards to Kiersten Newtoff from the Honors Academy and Christopher Blake from the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures. Of the 800 university-based student workers eligible for the award, Lester said, the two recipients stood out for their excellent work ethic, inspiring efforts and dedication to the university community.

Student organization honors included the Outstanding Student Organization Award to the Association for Computing Machinery, the Unsung Hero Award to James Ryan Bowyer; the Programming Excellence Award to the Second Annual Zombie Prom, National Residence Hall Honorary; the Community Service Program Award to Greek Life: Panhellenic; and the Advisory Excellence Award to Professor Bruce Blaylock for his contributions to Delta Sigma Pi.

Emily Redd, president of the Student Government Association, commended her peers for their achievements both in and out of the classroom.

"We honor all of you, each and every one, for the work that you do," Redd said. "We honor every life that you touch and every person you inspire to continue in your footsteps on the path of leadership."

Apr 24, 2012
Keith Hagarty