Holiday Schedule

The below alternative holiday schedule includes holidays observed by the Commonwealth of Virginia and additional days as granted by the Governor. These holidays are listed on the days in which Radford University observes them.  

2021 Alternate Holiday Schedule

January 1 (Friday)

2021 New Year's Day | 8 Hours

January 18 (Monday)

Martin Luther King Jr. Day | 8 Hours

May 31 (Monday)

Memorial Day | 8 Hours

July 5 (Monday) 

Independence Day (Observed) | 8 Hours 

September 6 (Monday)

Labor Day | 8 Hours | University Open (All Day)

November 2 (Tuesday)

Election Day | 4 Hours | University Open (All Day)

November 24 (Wednesday)

Day Before Thanksgiving | 8 Hours (includes 4 hours from Election Day)

November 25 (Thursday)

Thanksgiving | 8 Hours

November 26 (Friday)

Day After Thanksgiving | 8 Hours

December 23 (Thursday) 

Additional Holiday Time | 8 Hours

December 24 (Friday)

Christmas (Observed) | 8 Hours

December 27 (Monday)

Alternate Holiday | President's Day (Observed) | 8 Hours

December 28 (Tuesday)

Alternate Holiday | Juneteenth (Observed) | 8 Hours

December 29 (Wednesday)

Alternate Holiday | Columbus/Yorktown Victory Day (Observed) | 8 Hours

December 30 (Thursday)

Alternate Holiday | Veterans Day (Observed) | 8 Hours

December 31 (Friday)

2022 New Year's Day (Observed) | 8 Hours

 

Previous Year

2020 Alternative Holiday Schedule

January 1 (Wednesday)

New Year’s Day

January 20 (Monday)

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

May 25 (Monday)

Memorial Day

June 19 (Friday)

Juneteenth 

July 3 (Friday)

Independence Day

September 7 (Monday)

Labor Day (University Open)

November 3 (Tuesday)

Election Day (4hrs) - (University Open)*

November 25 (Wednesday)

 4 hrs Additional Holiday Time + 4 hrs Election Day*

November 26 (Thursday)

Thanksgiving Day

November 27 (Friday)

Day after Thanksgiving

December 24 (Thursday)

Additional 8 hrs Holiday Time

December 25 (Friday)

Christmas Day

December 28-31 (Monday- Thursday) Alternate Holidays 8 hrs/Day
   

To be eligible for paid holiday leave, employees must work or be on paid leave the day before and the day after the holiday. Classified Staff and Administrative and Professional Faculty who are required to work on a scheduled holiday will receive hour-for-hour compensatory time for hours worked. Questions? Contact the Benefits Department.  

 

grey bar

Updated: March 26, 2021