Faculty and Staff

Offering a quality professional education in social work is the primary goal of our School. The faculty is dedicated to helping students learn in an environment in which they will be encouraged to think beyond themselves and to inquire into the most complex, yet fundamental ideas about the human condition. In addition, ideas will be tested in the arena of practical experience, through intensive field practica. The struggle with ideas followed by testing them in the real worlds provides the opportunity to explore, to grow and to become. The role of the faculty is to support, to challenge, and to help students become professional social workers who act compassionately, thoughtfully and ethically.

The faculty is the heart of the school. They embody that which is best about higher education- open minds, lively encounters, and high academic standards. We are very fortunate to have gathered a group of interesting, talented persons who serve as teachers, mentors, and advisors. Talk with them, get to know them and be prepared to stretch your mind in the process.

diane-Hodge

Diane Hodge, Ph.D., LCSW
Director
Professor
540-831-7675
dmhodge@radford.edu

Susan

Susan Schoppelrey, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor
540-831-7692
sschoppel@radford.edu

Deneen Evans, Ph.D.

Deneen Evans, Ph.D.
Coordinator of Diversity, Community and
Global Engagement
Associate Professor
540-831-7681
devans18@radford.edu

placeholder female

Elizabeth Arthur, EdD, LCSW
Roanoke BSW Site Coordinator
540-831-7689
earthur3@radford.edu

Beth Deskins

Beth Deskins, MSW
Field Coordinator
540-831-7687
edeskins@radford.edu

Diana Joyce

Diana Joyce, MSW
Admissions Coordinator
540-831-7682
dsjoyce@radford.edu

 

Etty

Etty Vandsburger, Ph.D.
Professor
540-831-7674
evandsbur@radford.edu

Schneller

Debora Schneller, Ph.D., LCSW
Associate Professor
540-831-7694
d-schnel@radford.edu

placeholder female

Kerry Fay Vandergrift, Ph.D.
BSW Program Coordinator
Associate Professor
540-831-7676
kvandergrift@radford.edu

 

Mashooq

Mashooq Salehin, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor
540-831-7862
msalehin@radford.edu

Phil Mongan

Philip Mongan, Ph.D., LCSW
MSW Coordinator
540-831-7689
pmongan@radford.edu

placeholder female

Susan Taylor, MSW
CRAFFT Area Coordinator
staylor22@radford.edu

ali_sha_alleman faculty photo

Ali-Sha Alleman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
540-831-7673
aalleman@radford.edu

Sarah Bradbury

Sarah Bradbury
Office Manager
540-831-7690
sbrillhea@radford.edu

Jim Quillen

James Quillen
Fiscal Technician
540-831-7688
jequillen@radford.edu

placeholder female

Rhonda Seltz
Adjunct Instructor
MS
(540) 831-7693
rgseltz@radford.edu

placeholder male

Matthias Naleppa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
540-831-7686
mnaleppa@radford.edu

file

Matthew DeCarlo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Roanoke MSW Site Coordinator
540-831-5849
mdecarlo1@radford.edu

Dennis

Dennis R. Cogswell, EdD
Professor Emeritus of Social Work

file

Erica Thornton, MSW
Child Welfare Stipend Coordinator
540-831-5349
ethornton@radford.edu

Alice King Ingham

Alice King Ingham, Ph.D. 
Professor Emeritus of Social Work