Faculty & Staff

Residential Governor's School Leadership & Staff

  • Tay Keong Tan, Ph.D. Faculty Co-Director
  • Cris Thompson, M.S. Program Co-Director
  • TBA, Assistant Director
  • Jake Thomas, Senior Resident Life Director
  • Matt Rhoten, Assistant Resident Life Director
  • Audra Mayhew, Administrative Assistant
  • Advisory Board: Dr. Tim Channell and Dr. Matthew Smith

Residential Governor's School Faculty

Dance Faculty

  • Rachel Rugh, Dance Program Coordinator, Adjunct Professor of Dance
  • James W. Robey, Professor of Dance
  • Arianne Thompson
  • Amy VanKirk, Associate Professor of Dance
  • Nekeshia Wall, Assistant Professor of Dance

Humanities Faculty

  • Katy Shepard, PhD, Assistand Director, Adjunct Professor 
  • Dr. David Beach, Professor of English
  • Brian Carle
  • Scott Dunn, PhD, Professor of Communications
  • Russell Gregory, PhD, Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies
  • William Kovarik, PhD, Professor of Communications
  • Eric Rothgery, PhD, Adjunct Professor of Religious Studies
  • Gabriella V. Smith, PhD, Adjunct Professor of Sociology
  • Tay Keong Tan, PhD, Professor of Political Science 
  • Matthew Turner, PhD, Professor of Communications
  • Laura Vernon, PhD, Associate Professor of English
  • Mike Zarella, MA, Adjunct Professor of Philosophy

Instrumental Music Faculty 

  • Dr. W. Dayl Burnett, Instrumental Music Program Coordinator, Associate Professor of Music  
  • Dr. Matthew Cataldi, Associate Professor of Music
  • Vladimir Kromin, Adjunct Professor of Music
  • Dr. Robert Trent, Professor of Music

Theatre Faculty

  • Molly Hood, Theatre Program Coordinator, Associate Professor of Theatre
  • Wesley Young, Professor of Theatre
  • Robyn Berg, Associate Professor of Theatre
  • Jimmy Ray Ward, Associate Professor of Theatre

Visual Arts Faculty

  • Brent Webb, Visual Art Program Coordinator, Associate Professor of Drawing and Painting
  • John O’Connor, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design and Digital Art
  • Will W. Sawyer, Instructor of Ceramics
  • Leslie Smith, Artist-in-Residence at Radford University

Vocal Music Faculty

  • Dr. Denise Ritter Bernardini, Vocal Music Program Coordinator, Associate Professor of Music
  • Dr. Meredith Bowen, Associate Professor of Music