Senior Cited by American Chemical Society Chapter

RU senior Jacob Shelton was among 13 undergraduate chemistry students from the area honored on April 10 at the meeting of the Virginia Blue Ridge Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Shelton, from Altavista, received the group's James Lewis Howe Award for undergraduate chemists as part of the evening in Muse Banquet Hall that included a presentation by Dr. Michael Fox, associate professor at the Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute and associate professor of biological sciences at Virginia Tech. Fox spoke on the neurochemical basis for autism and the hunt for synaptic organizing molecules.

"I greatly appreciate the recognition that comes with this award," Shelton said. "If the faculty views me as an outstanding student, it's due in no small part to their outstanding work as professors. All of my success traces back to them."

Among the RU student-faculty research collaborations presented at the Virginia Blue Ridge Section's 21st annual poster session were:

  • Dylan McKnight, Jacob Mace and Assistant Professor Tim Fuhrer, "Using computational chemistry to predict the outcomes of protein/ligand interactions."
  • Chris Pregot and Fuhrer, "Computational study of synergistic effects of chlorine and fluorine as catalysts for fullerene formation."
  • Jessica Mawdsley and Assistant Professor Christopher Monceaux, "New synthesis of sulfonimidamides as GABA reuptake inhibitors."
  • Brandon Johnson and Monceaux, "Cyclic sulfonimidamides for the potential use as GABA reuptake inhibitors."
  • Nima Hami and Monceaux, "Molecules of interest in the inhibition of non GAT-1 proteins."

  • Gina Burchett and Assistant Professor Kimberly Lane, "Mutagenic analysis of the subunit interfaces of bacterial beta-glucuronidase."
  • Suzanne Hengeli and Lane, "Mutagenic analysis of the active-site loop of bacterial beta-glucuronidase."
  • Skye Hickling and Lane, "Mutagenic analysis of the active-site of bacterial beta-glucuronidase."
  • Evan Samples, Jessica Robinson and Associate Professor Joseph Wirgau, "The affect of cellular crowding on the ternary complex formation of ferrioxamine B and bipyridine."
  • Dennis Godward, Bekah Webster, Maddie Ford, Craig Slate, Jacob Shelton, Matt Sublett, James Freeman and Elizabeth Crook with Professors Cindy Burkhardt and Francis Webster, "Lessons from nature: synthetic humic acid materials for improved water purification."

Learn more about Radford University at

Apr 15, 2013
Don Bowman