Staff Senate

Classified staff (Exempt, Non-Exempt, and 1500 wage employess) are welcome to take the annual Staff Satisfaction Survey. The data from this survey will provide valuable information to assist the Staff Senate and Administration with policy legislation, resource distribution, and campus improvements. It also helps Staff Senate in setting goals for the upcoming academic year. Paper copies are available upon request. For questions or requests for paper copies, please email Survey is open thru May 31st, 2019.

Take the Staff Satisfaction Survey.

grey bar
Staff Picnic in the Bonnie. Please Join Us! Annual Staff Senate Picnic; Friday May 17, Noon to 3 p.m.; Bonnie Hurlburt Center; Live music, game room activities, presentation of the Bea Covington Award, great food, and more!
grey bar

Bea Covington Award

Established in 2006 to honor Bea Covington, the late wife of Radford University's fifth president Dr. Douglas Covington, this award is presented annually to a staff member who exemplifies the loving character and spirit of Bea. Staff Members are nominated by their colleagues and should consistently demonstrate a positive attitude, are fun to be around, and treat others with dignity, respect, and kindness. To nominate a staff member for this prestigious award, please fill out the form below, briefly stating why you believe the individual should receive the award, and email the form to Allison McCoy at or thru campus mail to BOX 6918. Deadline for submissions is May 7, 2019. The award will be presented at the Staff Picnic on May 17th in the Bonnie.

Bea Covington Award Nomination Form [PDF] 


grey bar

Thank you to everyone who voted on for this year's Keep'n it Green recipients!

Congratulations to the 2019 Keep'n it Green Winners:
Karla Colina (student), Virginia Tinsley(staff), and Dr. Rick Van Noy (faculty)

The Heth Lawn celebration of Earth Day was a success! 

grey bar

Thank you to everyone who participated in the 2018 Annual Staff Senate Satisfaction Survey. Your input is valuable and helps Staff Senate plan goals and initiatives for the upcoming year to provide resources, training, and continued support to Classified and Wage Staff.

grey bar

The Radford University Staff Senate was created in 1995 to give the support staff a voice in the governance of Radford University. Staff Senate meetings are open to the university community and are held on the third Thursday of each month beginning at 9 a.m. All university staff are invited and encouraged to attend.

Staff Senate Meetings:

Please join us for our monthly meetings. Let your voice be heard! All meetings will take place in the Hurlburt Combo Room which is located on the 2nd floor of the Bonnie Hurlburt building, except September 20th 2018, which is held in Heth 014. All meetings will take place at 9 a.m.

2018-19 Meeting Schedule

  • Thursday, October 18, 2018
  • Thursday, November 15, 2018
  • No meeting in December
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019
  • Thursday, February 21, 2019
  • Thursday, March 21, 2019
  • Thursday, April 25, 2019 **NEW DATE President Hemphill to attend**
  • May: No meeting...PICNIC Instead Friday, May 17, 2019!
  • Thursday, June 20, 2019
  • No meeting in July

2018-19 Staff Senate Executive Officers:

President: Karen Montgomery
Vice President: Allison McCoy
Secretary: Kim Dowdy
Parliamentarian: Kristina Contreras


Bea Covington Recipients:

2018: Brenda Nicewander
2017: Kathy Burnett
2016: Felicia McMillian
2015: Betty Smith
2014: David "Beaver" Buchanan
2013: LuAnn Gilbert
2012: Pam Duncan
2011: Marie Testerman