Distinguished College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences faculty recognized for their accomplishments

Three College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences (CHBS) faculty members were recently honored for their dedication to teaching, research and service.

The outstanding faculty for the 2020-2021 academic year are Dayna Hayes, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology, recognized with the Distinguished Teaching Award; Glen T. Martin, Ph.D., professor of philosophy, recognized with the Distinguished Research Award; and Paul Thomas, Ph.D., professor of religious studies, recognized with the Distinguished Service Award.

Distinguished Teaching Award

Hayes has been teaching at Radford University since 2013. Students confirm the inspirational nature of her classes, saying that she “challenges us and tries to help us reach our full potential always,” that her classes have “clear expectations that are challenging yet not impossible,” and that “the course is difficult and well worth it.” Hayes frequently partners with students in collaborative research projects, and she receives teaching evaluations “that would make anyone simultaneously proud and humble,” said Professor of Communication Sandra French, Ph.D., the 2019 Distinguished Teaching Award recipient.

Perhaps one of the most impressive attributes of Hayes’ pedagogy is the degree to which students reflect upon and engage with her course materials. Course evaluations suggest the average student in her courses studies between three to six hours weekly, demonstrating their commitment to the material. The recipient’s teaching philosophy includes a desire to “foster curiosity” and to help students succeed both inside and outside the classroom and to reach their full potential as individuals. Hayes is also a frequent grant recipient and is well- published, but it is her dedication to students’ intellectual and personal growth that has earned her the praise of colleagues and students alike.

Distinguished Research Award

Martin, who joined the Radford faculty in 1985, has produced 14 book-length publications, more than 100 articles, chapters, commentaries and other writings. He is also active in 14 professional organizations and is the current president of four of them. Martin published his most recent book, “Global Democracy and Human Self-Transcendence: The Power of the Future for Planetary Transformation,” in 2018, and he has a new work in press on the topic of creating a more livable world.

Martin’s dedication to providing the philosophical foundations for world peace led him to found the Peace Studies program at Radford University in the 1990s, and he served as head of that program until recently.

“Dr. Martin’s reputation has led to far-reaching international travel for presentations and to receive recognition for contributions to the field,” said Matt Oyos, Ph.D., professor of history and last year’s Distinguished Scholar Award recipient.

Distinguished Service Award

Thomas, who joined the Radford faculty in 2008, has served in several key leadership positions across the institution. Most recently, he served on University-wide search committees for the president and provost. He has served multiple terms as a Faculty Senate representative, including on its campus environment committee and on the core curriculum advisory committee. For CHBS, Thomas has served on the college awards committee and the college assessment committee, and he led the interdisciplinary studies in liberal arts program through a period of substantial growth as its director. In addition to his work as chair, which included overseeing a complete curriculum revision, Thomas has served the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies as assessment coordinator and chair of the department curriculum committee.   

Thomas also gives generously of his time to students, serving as the faculty mentor to a student scholarly society he helped found. He is also involved with student clubs, such as the Board Game Club and the Gay/Straight Alliance. He served as the director of Governor’s School for two years, significantly improving relations with the program among its many constituents and moving the program into solid budgetary footing.

“For me, this year’s recipient of the Outstanding Service Award is someone who immediately comes to mind when I think of the big moments of our college in recent years,” said Jeff Aspelmeier, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Psychology and last year’s Distinguished Service Award winner. “Paul takes on huge jobs that make his department, his college and his University better for everyone.” 

About the awards

Going back several decades, the CHBS Awards are bestowed upon deserving faculty annually at the beginning of the academic year. Through the presentation of these awards, CHBS recognizes faculty members for their outstanding achievements both inside and outside the classroom. This year’s honorees extend a tradition of excellence with distinction.

Sep 24, 2020
Mary Hardbarger
(540) 831-5150