R-SPaCE awarded at collegiate conference

R-SPaCE's award-winning T-shirt

Radford University's Student Programming and Campus Events (R-SPaCE) organization brought home two awards from the 2016 National Association for Campus Activities (NACA) South Regional Conference.

R-SPaCE, which is responsible for RU's eclectic extracurricular programming, won "Best T-shirt" and "Best-Themed Campaign."

The T-shirt awarded is worn by R-SPaCE members while volunteering at events. The shirt reads, "R-SPaCE organizes and promotes entertaining and educational activities that offer the Radford community new experiences and different perspectives."

The campaign awarded was used to promote a recent workshop at which students handcrafted personal dreamcatchers. A giant dreamcatcher, created by an R-SPaCE director, was used to advertise the event across campus.

R-SPaCE's award-winning campaign tool, a giant dreamcatcher

This was the first year R-SPaCE entered the award competition at the regional conference, held Sept. 30-Oct. 2 in Charleston, South Carolina.

"It was a really big deal for us," said R-SPaCE President Vashti Huff. "It's important that we get the Radford University and R-SPaCE name out there. It was a great way to show our student body R-SPaCE is well-represented and an important part of the Radford University experience."

R-SPaCE organizes more than 200 campus events every year. Members are responsible for the dozens of concerts, movie events and performances that highlight each semester.

Upcoming events include:

  • Free screening of the "Secret Life of Pets," Oct. 13-15, 8 p.m., the Bonnie auditorium
  • Chicago Boys: Acrobats, Oct. 15, 7:30 p.m., Bondurant Auditorium
  • Hypnotic Intoxication: Oct. 21, 9 p.m., the Bonnie cafe

For more information on R-SPaCE, visit the organization's website.


L-R: Rickie Delehanty, Director of Late Night; Logan Martin: Director of Novelties; Reanna Hamm, PR Intern; Katie Annetti, Director of Concerts; Briana Sample, Director of Public Relations; Jessica Twiest, Advisor; Vashti Huff, President; Ariana Crespo, Director of Performance; Shelby Lineberry, Vice President; Kaitlyn Morse, Director of Cinema; Caitlin Stone, Director of Educational and Multicultural; Alex Price, Director of Operations; Julia Hoffman, Graduate Assistant; Bianca Contreras, Graduate Assistant (not pictured).

Oct 11, 2016
Mary Hardbarger