COBE celebrates its highest achievers

The College of Business and Economics inducted 29 students into the Beta Gamma Sigma honor society at a ceremony on Nov. 15.

Radford University’s College of Business and Economics honored the extraordinary efforts and achievements of some of its top students at ceremonies on Nov. 15 in Kyle Hall.

The evening began with the induction of 29 students into the Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honor society at a ceremony in Kyle Hall 320.

The International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes academic excellence at the world's top business schools – those accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. BGS has established more than 500 collegiate chapters in 22 countries and has inducted more than 750,000 members since its founding in 1913.

BGS membership is limited to COBE juniors and seniors who rank in the top 10 percent of their class and MBA students in the top 20 percent.

“Tonight we honor academic achievement and hope this event marks a special moment in your memories,” COBE Dean George Low said. “We celebrate you and your accomplishments. There is no greater honor we can bestow as a college of business than to invite our students to join Beta Gamma Sigma.”

Senior inductees included Ryan Almond, Grant Anders, Kenny Boothe, Ricardo Carrillo, Beau Chisenhall, David Cole, Jason Ervin, James Furr, Michaela Ingle, Sarah Miles, Valeri Miller, Matthew Prillaman, Amanda Reinartsen, Anthony Reynolds, Bradlee Rogers, Chynna Shirah and Bailey Turman.

Junior inductees included John Albiston, Katherine Annetti, Catelyn Crump, Jasmine Davis, Gabrielle Jones, Jared Neukirk, William Saunders, Jordan Toohey and Samantha Warnecki.

Matthew Baldwin, Zachary Higginbotham and Elizabeth White were the graduate student inductees.

“Being recognized by this organization is a great honor. It says a lot about the quality of your work,” said Finance Assistant Professor Feifei Zhu, speaking on behalf of COBE faculty. “It is a great day for you, your family and your friends. It is also a great day for us, the faculty members who taught you, advised you and even challenged you. You make us proud. You are the reason we raise our bars higher and higher because we know the more we challenge you, the more you can achieve.”

The College of Business and Economics honored its outstanding students and organizations in a ceremony on Nov. 15.

Following the inductions, a ceremony to honor the college’s outstanding students and organizations was held down the third-floor hallway in the Multipurpose Room.

Outstanding Student Awards were presented to those students who exhibit outstanding leadership, GPA and citizenship. This year’s recipients were:

·       Reid Shores, Accounting

·       John Keller, Finance

·       Aitor Pouseu Blanco, Management

·       Amanda Reinartsen, Marketing 

·       Scotty Myers, Full-time MBA

·       Cristian Patino, Professional MBA

Low announced Bradlee Rogers as the recipient of the National Society of Accountants $1,000 Scholarship, The Virginia Society of CPAs (VSCPAs) H. Burton Bates Jr. $2,000 Scholarship and The VSCPA $500 Scholarship.

The dean also recognized the work of student organizations Alpha Mu Alpha, Beta Alpha Psi, Omicron Delta Epsilon, Sigma Iota Epsilon and BGS.

Nov 17, 2016
Chad Osborne