Radford University honors employees at 2016 service awards

President Kyle with this year's Presidential Employee Service Award winners Debra Carr (left) and Sarah Underwood (right).

Radford University recently recognized nearly 200 employees and retirees for their many years of dedication and contributions to the university.

During the annual Employee Service Awards program on April 14, President Penelope W. Kyle presented certificates to those employees who had a minimum of 10 years of service to Radford.

“It adds up to a total of 2,305 years of service,” President Kyle said in summarizing the magnitude of all the employees being recognized with service milestones of five years or more.

“Our reputation, our values, and our strength have been built through your hard work and dedication,” President Kyle said. “On behalf of the entire campus community, I want to thank today’s honorees for all you have done for Radford University.”

Three employees were recognized for 35 years of service, and 10 employees were recognized for 30 years of service.

Celebrating 35 years at Radford are:

  • Stephen W. Lenhart
  • Richard A. Straw
  • Teresa L. Whitt

Celebrating 30 years at Radford are:

  • Justin S. Askins
  • Moira P. Baker
  • Jerry L. Beasley
  • Harry T. Branch
  • David O. Castonguay
  • Stephen P. Corwin
  • Daniel V. Davidson
  • Margaret T. Devaney
  • Michael A. Dunn
  • Philip D. Sweet

Two employees received the Presidential Service Award, which honors individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the university. This year’s winners were Debbie Carr, who works in New Student Programs, and Sarah Underwood, who works in Financial Reporting/General Accounting. Each received a certificate and $1,000 from the Radford University Foundation.

Presented each spring to celebrate and honor the university’s faculty and staff, the Employee Service Recognition program is coordinated by the Department of Human Resources.


President Kyle with the 25 year service award winners.

Apr 28, 2016
Chad Osborne