Education students awarded Hattie Strong scholarships

Six students in Radford University’s College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) teacher preparation program have each been awarded $5,000 scholarships from the Hattie M. Strong Foundation.

CEHD and Hattie M. Strong Foundation representatives honored the recipients at a ceremony held April 5 in Peters Hall.

Scholarships are awarded to students who are student-teaching during the fall and spring semesters.

This academic year, two scholarships were awarded in the fall of 2015 to Kaitlyn Hall, an elementary education major, and James “Tripp” Lewis, a physical and health education major. Hall and Lewis graduated in December, 2015.

Four scholarships were awarded during the spring semester to:

  •  Desirae Abbott – Elementary education
  • Lauren Blankenship – Elementary education
  • Charles Brady – Elementary education
  • Rueben Miller – Middle education

All four are scheduled to graduate in May.

Recipients of the Hattie M. Strong scholarship must have GPAs of 3.0 or better for the two semesters prior to student teaching, exhibit outstanding success and enthusiasm in previous field experiences, show strong leadership skills and demonstrate financial need. The recipients must also intend to pursue a career in teaching.

Preference is given to applicants who have a demonstrated record of "helping others help themselves."

At the ceremony, each scholarship recipient was introduced by a faculty mentor. The students later delivered brief presentations about their student-teaching and life experiences. Speaking of their scholarships, each expressed heart-felt appreciation to the Hattie M. Strong Foundation.

“The story of our students is amazing,” CEHD Dean Kenna Colley said. “Every story like this is what we live for.”

CEHD Assistant Dean Tamara Wallace said she was “in awe” of the recipients.

“You are all such special, wonderful young people who are going to do great things in the lives of children,” Wallace said during her remarks to the recipients. “It’s a pleasure to be part of your journey as you move forward.”

Robin Tanner represented the Hattie M. Strong Foundation at the ceremony. She commended the students for their hard work and achievements and applauded faculty for their dedication to educating the soon-to-be teachers.

“You have such a relationship with your students,” Tanner said. “They’re not just a students; they’re not just a number. You know them. You like them. You have taught them. The respect they have for you is wonderful.”

The Hattie M. Strong Foundation was incorporated in the District of Columbia in 1928. Its primary activity is administering loan programs for U.S. college students.

Hattie M. Strong, for whom the foundation is named, was born in 1864. She supported herself and her son by creating a combination hospital and hotel for gold miners in Alaska. She overcame challenges through her high energy, range of interests and ingenuity. To provide for herself and her son, she held a number of positions, including nurse, physician's assistant, ticket agent and supervisor of a men's club. In 1905, she married Henry Alvah Strong, the first president of Eastman Kodak Co., and dedicated the rest of her life to helping the less fortunate.


From left: Charles "Chuck" Brady; Desirae Abbott; Lauren Blankenship; Kaitlyn Hall; James “Tripp” Lewis; Robin Tanner, Hattie M. Strong Foundation executive director; and Reuben Miller

Apr 29, 2016
Chad Osborne