COBE honors students with BGS induction

Radford University’s College of Business and Economics inducted 21 new student members into Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honor society in an April 19 ceremony at Kyle Hall.

The International Honor Society Beta Gamma Sigma recognizes academic excellence at the world's top business schools – those accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Since its founding in 1913, BGS has established more than 525 collegiate chapters in 22 countries.

Membership in the BGS is limited to COBE juniors and seniors who rank in the top 10 percent of their class and MBA students in the top 20 percent. 

“Tonight we honor academic achievement by recognizing the students for their accomplishments,” COBE Dean George Low said. “We hope this event marks this moment in your memories as well. This is an achievement and what you have accomplished deserves to be recognized.”

Senior inductees included Carley Burtt, Accounting; Sarah Eckenrode, Marketing; Allison Martin, Accounting; Hannah Ratcliffe, Management; and Joshua Stevers, Accounting.

Junior inductees included Daniel Blankers, Accounting and Finance; Ryan Flynn, Marketing; Daniel Frank, Finance; Adam Gillman, Accounting and Finance; Christopher Graff, Economics and Finance; John Keller, Finance; Karleigh Marshall, Marketing; Tyler Matthews, Accounting; Abbey McDonald, Management; Cody Paschal, Accounting; Aaliyah Patterson, Management; Sable Ponn, Management; Lawrence Sintim, Accounting and Finance; Jordan Staib, Management; and Matthew Zebell, Management.

Mark Hassell was the lone graduate student inductee.

“There’s no greater honor we can bestow as a college of business than to invite our students to join Beta Gamma Sigma, the national honorary for academic excellence in business,” Low said.

Assistance Professor of Finance Feifei Zhu was the faculty inductee. “Dr. Zhu was chosen for this honor by the students of Beta Gamma Sigma because she exemplifies the Beta Gamma Sigma principles,” said BGS member at large Benjamin Buzzard.

Management Professor Dale Henderson issued a challenge to BGS inductees. “This is just the beginning of your successes,” he said. “From here, I’m going to challenge you to go out and do more, to be leaders, to not only accept your responsibility but to go out and make a difference in all the things that you do. I’m glad to have all of you in the classroom. You’re a joy to teach.”

BGS inducted officers for the 2016-17 academic year. Those included Sarah Eckenrode, Karleigh Marshall, Aaliyah Patterson and Sable Ponn.

Outgoing officers were recognized and given a medallion of excellence.

“Congratulations,” Low said, closing the ceremony. “We applaud you for your success, and we look forward to the many things you will accomplish in the years to come.”


The 2016 inductees to the Beta Gamma Sigma honor society.

Apr 29, 2016
Chad Osborne