RU COSD chair named to important professional leadership academy


Diane Millar

Radford University's Diane Millar, chair of the department of Communication Sciences and Disorders (COSD), will be an inaugural member of the Leadership Academy, sponsored by the Council of Academic Programs in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CAPCSD).

"We have an energetic, diverse and innovative faculty and staff in COSD, and I am eager to learn how I can better serve them as chair," said Millar. "Cultivating excellence is our goal. I am excited to join my colleagues in the field as we develop our abilities on behalf our colleagues and our institutions across the country."

Millar will join 14 other COSD professionals in the first class of the academy April 13 as part of the CAPCSD Annual Conference in Newport, California.

CAPCSD is a national group of more than 250 COSD academic programs dedicated to promoting academic excellence, visionary leadership and collaboration.

The inaugural 2015 CAPCSD Leadership Academy, "Best Practices in Academic Leadership," will be led by Dr. Jeffrey Buller, dean of Florida Atlantic University's Wilkes Honors College. The Academy is for selected individuals who are considering academic leadership positions or who are actively engaged in them. The two-day event will focus on foundational leadership areas such as time management, stress management, collegiality and team building, best practices in faculty evaluation, mentoring, and coaching; leading change and goal setting/planning for the future.

Mar 24, 2015