Spring 2014 faculty and staff awards

The Radford University Foundation honored five outstanding faculty and staff members at the conclusion of the 2014 Spring Semester.

The Radford University Foundation annually bestows awards upon teaching and administrative faculty whose performance has been exceptional. Nominations are made by members of the RU community, and award recipients are recommended to President Penelope W. Kyle by the Faculty Awards Committee.

Associate Professor of Education Jennifer Jones received the Donald N. Dedmon Distinguished Teaching Professor Award. The Dedmon award recipient must be dedicated to teaching as a primary function at the university, and demonstrate excellence in their teaching and advising of students.

Associate Professor of Dance Inessa Plekhanova received the Distinguished Creative Scholar Award for her consistent record of creative contributions to her academic discipline. Creative Scholarship is defined to include basic and applied research, artistic production and creation of original works.

Associate Professor of Biology Justin Anderson was this year's recipient of the Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his service to RU over an extended period. Anderson's work on campus has contributed significantly to the enhancement of Radford's operations, academic climate and sense of community.

Professor of Marketing Angela Stanton received the Distinguished Faculty Advising Award for her excellence in taking on the responsibilities of academic advising. 

Academic Advising Coordinator in the College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences Deborah Kitts received the Award for Administrative and Professional Excellence for her distinguished leadership and service in her role at RU.

Through the generosity of the Foundation, each award recipient receives a plaque and a monetary prize and has the privilege of consulting with a committee of colleagues to select an outstanding student who receives a scholarship in the award recipient’s name.

May 21, 2014