Governor appoints new members to Radford University Board of Visitors

Gov. Terry McAuliffe announced that he has reappointed one member and appointed three new members to the Radford University Board of Visitors (BOV).

In an announcement June 2, the governor reappointed RU alumnus Steve Robinson '81, MS '85 , of Chapel Hill, N.C., Assistant Basketball Coach at the University of North Carolina, who has been serving on the BOV since Oct. 25, 2013.

The governor also announced the appointments of The Honorable Andrew Fogarty, Ph.D., of Chesterfield, Va., retired; Susan Whealler Johnston, Ph.D., of Berryville, Va., Executive Vice President and COO, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB); and The Honorable Javaid Siddiqi, Ph.D., of Chesterfield, Director Hunt-Kean Leadership Fellows.

RU President Penelope W. Kyle welcomed the appointees to the BOV, saying, "I am delighted that our alumnus Steve Robinson is being reappointed so that he can serve a full term on our Board and I am grateful for the willingness of the newest members of our Board of Visitors to join the Radford University family. I look forward to working together to build upon RU's legacy and the important work that is necessary to fulfill the higher education needs of the Commonwealth of Virginia and our students."

Robinson '81, MS '85, earned a Bachelor of Science in health and physical education in 1981 and a Master of Science in guidance and counseling in 1985, both from Radford University. Inducted into the Radford Athletics Hall of Fame in 1997, Robinson was a two-year starter and co-captain for the RU men's basketball team from 1978-80 and then served three seasons as an assistant coach. Before serving at UNC, he previously served as head coach at the University of Tulsa for two years, at Florida State University for five years, and as an assistant coach at the University of Kansas. He serves on the Governance, Administration and Athletics Committee and the Academic Affairs Committee of the BOV.

President Kyle also acknowledged the contributions of the outgoing BOV members Linda K. Whitley-Taylor '86, Milton C. Johns, and Stephan Q. Cassaday '76. "We are very grateful for Linda's, Milt's and Stephan's dedication to Radford University during their service on the BOV. Our institution has benefitted tremendously from their tireless service and commitment to RU. I am most appreciative for their guidance and counsel during their tenure on the board."

Whitley-Taylor '86, of Virginia Beach, served on the BOV from 2009-14, including as Rector of the Board of Visitors (2012-14), chair of the Executive Committee (2012-14), vice chair of the Governance, Administration and Athletics Committee (2010-11), and chair of the Governance, Administration and Athletics Committee (2011-12).

Johns, of Gainesville, Va., served on the BOV from 2010-14, including as Vice Rector of the Board of Visitors (2012-13), chair of the Academic Affairs Committee (2011-12 and 2013-14), and vice chair of the Academic Affairs Committee (2012-13).

Cassaday '76, of Great Falls, Va., served on the BOV from 2010-14, including as chair of the University Advancement and Alumni Relations Committee (2012-13), chair of the Advancement/Alumni Relations and Communications/Marketing Committee (2013-14) and vice chair of the Student Affairs Committee (2011-12). He previously served on the RU Board of Visitors from 2000-2004 and was Vice Rector (2002-2004).

A brief biography follows for each newly appointed member:

Fogarty has previously served as Secretary of Transportation, Secretary of Administration, and Secretary of Transportation and Public Safety for the Commonwealth of Virginia. He served as Chief of Staff to Governor Gerald L. Baliles from 1986-89. He also has served as Senior Vice President-Corporate Services of CSX Corporation, Special Assistant to the Chairman of CSX, President and CEO of CSX World Terminals, and Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Sea-Land Service, Inc. Fogarty is the former chairman of the board of directors of the National Defense Transportation Association, is a fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration and is a member of the Board of Directors and Chair of the Compensation Committee at Danaos Corporation. He holds a Bachelor of Arts from Hofstra University; a Master's of Public Administration from the Nelson A. Rockefeller College of Public Affairs & Policy at the University of Albany, State University of New York; and a Ph.D. from Florida State University.

Johnston currently serves as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges. She has nearly 30 years of experience in higher education, including 18 years as a faculty member and administrator. She has served on the board of Rockford College, the Association for Consortia Leadership, and the advisory board for the Policy Center for the First Year of College. She is currently on the advisory board of the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment, and she chairs the board of trustees of the Southern Education Foundation. She is also on the board of trustees of Rollins College, chairing its Committee on Trustees. Johnston earned her Ph.D. and Master's of Arts from Purdue University, and earned her undergraduate degree in English, summa cum laude, from Rollins College. She also received an honorary doctorate from Rockford College.


Siddiqi serves as Director of Hunt-Kean Leadership Fellows. He most recently served as Secretary of Education for the Commonwealth of Virginia, and previously as Deputy Secretary of Education. He began his professional career in education and policy as a high school teacher, a middle school assistant principal, a high assistant principal and principal of Robious Middle School within the Chesterfield County Public Schools system. He earned his bachelor's degree in biology from Virginia Commonwealth University, his master's degree in educational administration and supervision from Virginia State University, and completed his doctorate in educational leadership from Virginia Commonwealth University.

Jun 2, 2014