Region's top teachers to be honored at McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching at RU in April


Radford University will host the 2014 McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching on Thursday, April 10, at the Bondurant Auditorium.

The celebration, now in its 15th year, annually honors the Blue Ridge region's best teachers with the McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence. Six finalists have been selected for the 2014 awards. These awards are some of the largest monetary awards for teaching in the nation.

Two winners, who will be awarded $25,000 each, will be announced at the ceremony conducted by the McGlothlin Foundation, Blue Ridge PBS and Radford University's College of Education and Human Development. The awards ceremony begins at 6:30 p.m. in Bondurant Auditorium.

The three finalists in the elementary category are:

  • Steven Cregger, High Point Elementary School, Washington County Public Schools
  • Michelle Greene, Auburn Elementary School, Montgomery County Public Schools
  • Tracy Proffitt, Robert S. Payne Elementary School, Lynchburg City Schools

The three finalists in the secondary category are:

  • Erin Bond, Floyd County High School, Floyd County Public Schools
  • Susan Hampton, Virginia Middle School, Bristol Virginia Public Schools
  • Stephanie Miller, Colonial Heights Middle School, Sullivan County (Tenn.) Schools

The awards ceremony caps the day's McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching activities that begin at 4 p.m. at various locations on campus. The event is open, and no registration is required for the general public.

Charles Sydnor, executive director of the Virginia Holocaust Museum and former president of Emory & Henry College, will deliver the keynote address at the McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching Awards Ceremony.

Sydnor also will deliver a presentation and host a question and answer session about his time spent as an expert witness in Nazi war crimes trials. The session begins at 4 p.m. in the Bonnie Hurlburt Auditorium.

Presentations by previous McGlothlin Awards winners and education professionals are scheduled for 5-6 p.m. The schedule includes:

  • Previous Winner 2013 (K-5) Pam MacDonald, Giles County Public Schools, Heth 014
  • Previous Winner 2013 (6-12) Steven Ahn, Washington County Public Schools, Heth 022
  • Teaching Critical Issues in the Elementary Classroom: Sharon Zuckerwar, Supervisor of Social Sciences and Character Education, Montgomery County Public Schools, Heth 043
  • Teaching Critical Issues in the Secondary Classroom: Melissa Lisanti, Project Coordinator, VDOE Training and Technical Assistance Center, Radford University, Heth 016

To learn more about the McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching event at RU, visit their website or email

Apr 1, 2014