COBE professor wins prestigious accounting research award

Associate Professor of Accounting Helen Roybark

Associate Professor Helen Roybark

College of Business and Economics Associate Professor of Accounting Helen Roybark is the joint recipient of the 2012 Abacus Manuscript Award for a research article she co-authored examining the Governmental Accounting Standards Board.

Roybark shares the Abacus award with co-writers Edward Coffman and Gary J. Previts, accounting professors at Virginia Commonwealth University and Case Western Reserve University, respectively.

The trio penned, "The First Quarter Century of the GASB (1984–2009): A Perspective on Standard Setting (Part 2)," which delves into the first 25 years of authoritative accounting standard‐setting body for United States state and local governmental entities.

The Abacus editorial board announced the winners August 5 at the American Accounting Association 2013 Annual Meeting in Anaheim.

Abacus is a scholarly research journal promoting accounting, finance business studies. The Accounting Foundation owns Abacus and each year funds a $10,000 manuscript award for the best article it publishes in the calendar year.

Roybarck and her co-authors will split the prize winnings.

Sep 10, 2013
Chad Osborne
(540) 831-7761