Henry Winkler to give keynote speech at McGlothlin event

Henry Winkler

Henry Winkler

Henry Winkler, the iconic actor, author, director and producer, will give the keynote address at the 2013 McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching on April 18 at Radford University.

Winkler, who became famous for playing Arthur "The Fonz" Fonzarelli on the 1970s and '80s TV series "Happy Days," expanded his career into directing and producing films, plays and more than 20 TV series. He began his own production company to make high-quality children’s programming and is the co-author of a popular Hank Zipzer series of children's books.

After being diagnosed at age 30 with dyslexia, Winkler made a commitment to help children with learning difficulties. He has received international awards in recognition of his service to children with special needs.

Winkler will speak as part of the McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching, which will begin at 5:15 p.m. in Bondurant Auditorium of Preston Hall on the Radford University campus. Hosted by the RU College of Education and Human Development, the free public event will be preceded by activities beginning at 4 p.m. at various locations on campus and culminating with the awards ceremony.

The McGlothlin Foundation of Bristol, Va., gives two $25,000 awards each year to teachers in selected portions of Virginia, Tennessee and West Virginia. The awards, presented during the McGlothlin celebration, go to one teacher from grades K-5 and one from grades 6-12. The winners must use $10,000 of the award for international travel to enrich their teaching.

Adele Morris, technology director for Craig County Public Schools and a McGlothlin Awards judge, said, "This is an elite group of individuals who are extremely dedicated, talented and appreciated by their students, schools and communities."

The 2013 McGlothlin Award finalists are:

  • Lisa James, Narrows Elementary/Middle School, Giles County.
  • Pamela MacDonald, Macy McClaugherty Elementary School, Giles County.
  • Dawn Toole, Patrick Henry Elementary School, Martinsville.
  • Steve Ahn, Abingdon High School, Washington County.
  • Beth Cook, Salem High School, Salem.
  • Jeff Steele, Liberty High School, Bedford County.

Blue Ridge PBS has administered the McGlothlin Awards since 1999.

"Blue Ridge PBS is proud to showcase these unsung heroes through the McGlothlin Awards, one of the largest such programs in the nation," said James Baum, president and chief executive officer of Blue Ridge PBS.

Read more about the awards process on the Blue Ridge PBS website. Learn more about the day's events on the RU McGlothlin Celebration website.

Mar 8, 2013
Bonnie Erickson
(540) 831-5804