CHBS honors its Dean's Scholars

The 2013 Dean's Scholars from the College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences (CHBS) were honored on Saturday, April 6, at a reception for the students, their professors, families and friends.

The college each year honors a senior from each of its academic departments. The honorees are selected based on their scholarly achievements as well as their contributions to the campus and local community.

Radford University President Penelope W. Kyle, speaking to the honored students at the reception in the Hurlburt Student Center, said, "Being named a Dean's Scholar means you have achieved the highest academic honor in your college. This is a significant recognition of all your dedication and hard work."

This year’s CHBS Dean's Scholars and their fields of study are:

  • Katherine Elizabeth Rasiak, Criminal Justice
  • Hannah Marie Anderson, English
  • Roxanne Torres, Foreign Languages
  • Amity M. Rodney, History
  • Kevin A. Hollar, Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Jodie Bell, Media Studies
  • Kevin Ray Cales, Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Joshua Caleb Anderson, Political Science
  • Stephanie K. Gusler, Psychology
  • Amanda Leigh Smith, School of Communication
  • Curtis D. Rash II, Sociology
  • Mary C. Dickerson, Social Science

The College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences, led by Dean Katherine Hawkins, serves more than 2,000 students and has more than 125 faculty members. The mission of the college is to provide its students with the individualized attention of a liberal arts college coupled with the resources and opportunities of a comprehensive university. Learn more on the college website.

Learn more about Radford University at

The 2013 CHBS Dean's scholars

The 2013 College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences Dean's Scholars from left to right: Dean Katherine Hawkins, Katherine Elizabeth Rasiak (Criminal Justice), Provost Sam Minner, Amity M. Rodney (History), Amanda Leigh Smith (Communication), Roxanne Torres (Foreign Languages and Literatures), Kevin A. Hollar (Interdisciplinary Studies), Joshua Caleb Anderson (Political Sciences), Kevin Ray Cales (Philosophy and Religious Studies), Jodie Bell (Media Studies), Mary C. Dickerson (Social Sciences), Stephanie K. Gusler (Psychology), Hannah Marie Anderson (English) and President Penelope W. Kyle.

Apr 6, 2013
Dan Waidelich
(540) 831-7523