Awards recognize student achievements

Students who go above and beyond as scholars and leaders were honored at Radford University's 2013 student awards ceremony and reception.

In a presentation on Friday, April 26, in the multipurpose room of the College of Business and Economics building, Mark Shanley, RU's vice president for student affairs, bestowed the highest honor, the Outstanding Student Awards, to sophomores Analise Roccaforte and Emily Hoke; juniors Jenna McChesney and Rachel Conway; seniors Dylan McDaniel and Megan Rhodes; and graduate students Lauren Miller and Thuja Jameson.

The award recognizes those who have excelled in promoting the true spirit and ideals of Radford University, both in academics and leadership, Shanley said.

Winners of Outstanding Student Awards

Outstanding Student Award winners are (front row) Emily Hoke, Analise Roccaforte, Rachel Conway, Jenna McChesney, (back row) Dylan McDaniel, Megan Rhodes, Thuja Jameson and Lauren Miller.

Winners of the Outstanding Student Awards are chosen based on their positive contributions academically and in other areas of achievement, including contributions to the community, published papers, conference or workshop presentations, a role in a university production, participation in student government, athletics, and leadership or substantial time commitment to the university or the greater community. Winning students also must maintain a GPA of 3.2 for freshmen, 3.3 for sophomores, 3.4 for juniors, 3.5 for seniors and 3.7 for graduate students. Recipients are selected by a student nominating committee.

As an instructor for Radford University's LEAD 110 course, Ken Bonk, associate vice president of student affairs and director of student activities, recognized graduating LEAD Scholars: Megan Ahrenberg, Mary Casale, Maria Chalaire, Travis Ford, Jakob Harris, Jasmine Jackson, Brian Kincaid, Paul Mallory, Olga Martinez, Charles Midkiff, Holly Mueller, Jolyn Paoletti, Stephanie Shaver and Paige Waddell.

"Radford University's student leadership program—known as the LEAD Scholar Program—stands for Leadership through Excellence, Academics and Development," Bonk explained. Through hands-on experience, the program aims to promote active involvement and community engagement through creative and critical thinking, problem and solution analysis, and discovery and growth of individual leadership styles.

Don Appiarius, dean of students and associate vice president for student affairs, recognized those selected for Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Founded in 1934, the program inducts members based on academic achievement, participation in co-curricular activities, citizenship and demonstrated leadership.

Students tapped for "Who's Who" were Megan Ahrenberg, Megan Bare, Robert Buonviri, Kayla Black, Caroline Martinez-Carranza, Don Randall Carter, Molly Christopher, Lynsey Daughtrey, Christine Evans, Chelsea Frascoia, Jessica Frazelle, Ashley Giebler, Rene Carling, Luis Grande, Kaleice Green, Thuja Jameson, Brianna Kirker, James Lawrence, Patrick Manges, Heather Manias, Shanita Manyfield, Chelsea McGinnis, Katelyn Morrill, Anita Puerto, Meghan Ratcliffe, Megan Rhodes, Ryndee Ruch, Kayla Smith, Lauren Taylor, James Visbeck, Cynthia Ward and Caitlin Wimmer.

Jerry Lester, assistant director of financial aid, presented the H.S. "Buddy" and Janet N. Johnston Outstanding Student Worker Awards to Curtis Rash from the Department of Anthropological Sciences, Jacey Allen from the Department of Geology and Daniel Bedsaul from the Disability Resource Center. Of about 800 university-based student workers eligible for the award, Lester said, the three recipients stood out for their excellent work ethic, inspiring efforts and dedication to the campus community.

Student organizations also presented honors at the ceremony. The Outstanding Student Organization Award went to Phi Sigma Pi; the Unsung Hero Award to Duryea Leftwich; the Programming Excellence Award to the National Panhellenic Council of Radford University; the Community Service Program Award to the American Society of Interior Designers; and the Advisory Excellence Award to Brandi McKee for her work with Kappa Delta Rho.

Zach McCoy, who will serve as Student Government Association president for the 2013-14 academic year, spoke to his peers about the importance of student leadership and getting involved on campus. "It has been beneficial to you, not just in terms of gaining leadership and proficiency skills, but it has given you life-long experiences that will enable you to make the best decisions for the benefit of yourselves and your colleagues for the years to come."

Learn more about Radford University at

Apr 30, 2013
Dan Waidelich
(540) 831-7749