New members join RU Board of Visitors

Radford University welcomes five new members to its Board of Visitors, effective July 1, 2012.

Alumna Mary Waugh Campbell '71, M.S. ’71 of Clifton taught in the Prince William County Public Schools until her retirement in 2007. She served as secretary of the Commonwealth Advisory Board for Appointments and Commissions, a member of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Board and was a state delegate to the 2008 Republican National Convention.

Kevin Dye, M.D., of Roanoke is a physician in private practice with Gastrointestinal Associates, a division of Physicians Care of Virginia P.C., Carilion Roanoke Community Hospital. Previously he was president and chief executive of Tri-Med Specialties Inc. A graduate of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine, he was a Fellow in pulmonary medicine at Truman Medical Center in Kansas City. In Virginia, he was a Fellow in gastroenterology at the Salem VA Medical Center and the University of Virginia Medical Center, and a clinical assistant professor of medicine at the University of Virginia.

Ruby Wolfe Rogers of Gate City is coordinator for gifted education with the Scott County Public Schools, where she previously taught kindergarten and second grade. Active in a number of nonprofit organizations, she has served on the Virginia Board of Education, the Committee for the Virginia Governor’s School and as a faculty delegate to the Virginia Education Association. She is active in the Cove Ridge Foundation and serves on the boards of the Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel State Park and Hope House of Scott County.

Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham of Blacksburg is president of Snyder & Associates and former president of the Radford University Foundation Board, on which she has served since 1989. In 2006, she received the Radford University Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award. Currently president of the Radford University Real Estate Foundation Board, she has held leadership positions with a number of educational, civic and trade organizations, and has received more than a dozen building industry and community beautification awards.

Michael Wray of Roanoke is accounting operations manager for Norfolk Southern Corp. and the parent of a current Radford University student. Treasurer of the Roanoke Higher Education Board, he also serves on the advisory boards of Virginia Western Community College and the Roanoke County Public Schools Career Center, and is a director of the YMCA and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. He is a former member of the Roanoke County Board of Supervisors, serving as its chairman in 2006. He holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Bluefield College.

The board also welcomes  Anthony Bedell of Great Falls for his first full term. He was appointed to the board in 2011 to complete an unfulfilled term. Bedell is director of governmental affairs for Intuit Inc., a leading provider of business and financial management solutions. Previously he served as the associate administrator for the Office of Congressional and Legislative Affairs at the U.S. Small Business Administration. He is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University, a veteran of the U.S. Air Force and a former chairman of the Fairfax County Republican Committee.

Members whose terms expired June 30 are Rector Stephen Musselwhite, Vice Rector Mark Pace ‘93, Thomas Fraim '87 and Ronald Wesley. Rene Fonseca was appointed to a professional board by Gov. Bob McDonnell and tendered his resignation.

President Kyle welcomed the new board members and expressed appreciation to the outgoing members. "We are deeply grateful to Steve, Mark, Tommy, Ron and Rene for their time and their dedication to our university and to Virginia," she said. "Thanks to their service, Radford is well positioned to continue on the course of progress it has set for future generations of students."

RU's Board of Visitors

Penelope W. Kyle

Board of Visitors
Linda K. Whitley-Taylor ’86

Milton C. Johns
Vice Rector

Nancy E. Artis ’73
Anthony R. Bedell
J. Brandon Bell
Mary Waugh Campbell ’71, M.S. ’71
Stephan Q. Cassaday ’76
Matthew B. Crisp ’04
Sandra C. Davis
Kevin R. Dye, M.D.
Darius A. Johnson
Ruby W. Rogers
Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham
Wendy S. Tepper
Michael A. Wray

Emily Redd
Student Representative

Laura Jacobsen
Faculty Representative