The Center for Social and Cultural Research (CSCR) is affiliated with the Department of Sociology in collaboration with the Program in Public Sociology.  Learn about our faculty, advisory council, and community board.

Faculty Associates

Dr. Aysha Bodenhamer
Environmental sociology, sociology of health and illness, rural sociology, Appalachian Studies, Applied Sociology

Dr. Stephanie Bradley
Fiscal Sociology, politics, economic sociology, social movements, inequalities

Dr. Joanna Hunter
Identity, organizations, gender, qualitative methods

Dr. Elizabeth Lyman
Social inequality, sociology of education, organizational theory

Dr. Jeanne Mekolichick
Social psychology, applied sociology, research methods, undergraduate education

Dr. Roby Page
Deviance, delinquency, family, social problems, visual sociology

Dr. Paula Prince
Medical sociology, racial health disparities, Appalachian health and culture, research methods

Dr. Melinda B. Wagner, Emeritus
Cultural anthropology, religion, ethnograhpic research methods, North American Indians, Appalachia

Dr. Allison Wisecup
Social psychology; self, role and society; gender, stratification, identity, interaction and emotions; health inequalities, sport and society, mental health

Advisory Council

Mary LaLone, PhD
Professor of Sociology and Anthropology

Elizabeth Lyman, PhD
Chair, Department of Sociology

Melinda Wagner, PhD
Emeritus Professor of Anthropology and Appalachian Studies

Alison Wisecup, PhD
Associate Professor of Sociology

Community Board

Ms. Pat Brown
Executive Director
The Women's Resource Center of the New River Valley

Mr. Eric Bucey
Executive Director
Beans and Rice, Inc.

Dr. Theresa Burriss
Radford University
Director/Chair, Appalachian Regional & Rural Studies Center

Ms. Teresa Dickens
Radford University
Assistant Director, Career Counseling

Dr. Erin Webster-Garrett
Radford University
Director, Scholar-Citizen Initiative