Dean's Scholars

Annually, each department in the College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences picks one student for recognition as a Dean's Scholar. Honorees are selected based on their scholarly achievements as well as their contributions to the campus and local community. Because the Department of History administers both the history program and the social science program, it selects two Dean's Scholars. For the 2016-2017 academic year, the Department of History picked Kaleb Kahoon (History) and Andrew Cox (Social Science) for this honor.

Kaleb Cahoon

Kaleb Cahoon is the Dean’s Scholar Award winner for History

Kaleb graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in May 2017. In addition to a history major, he took courses in Arabic to complete the requirements for the B.A. degree. Kaleb took a range of history courses but maintained a special interest in American history. Kaleb is planning to return to Botetourt County after graduation before he pursues additional education.

Andrew Cox

Andrew Cox is the Social Science Dean's Scholar Award winner

Andrew majored in social science and minored in political science, and has also completed the teacher licensure program in secondary social studies. He completed student teaching this past term, and recieved his bachlor of science degree in May 2017. He is looking forward to a career as an educator.

Apr 8, 2017