McClellan Scholarship Award Winners


The Charles W. McClellan Scholarship for International Students is named in honor of Charles McClellan, professor emeritus of history.  Dr. McClellan taught at Radford for nearly thirty years, and during that time he advanced international education at the university considerably.  He oversaw the International Studies Minor and advised campus chapter of Pi Gamma Mu, the international honor society in social science.  Dr. McClellan taught courses in world history, the Middle East, and Subsaharan Africa, and he continues to teach courses on the Twentieth Century World and Subsaharan Africa.

The following students have been recipients of the McClellan Scholarship. 

  • 2001-2002 Michael Shoaseged (Ethiopia)
  • 2002-2003 Loubna Rais (Morocco)
  • 2003-2004 Kwabena Osei-Sarpong (Ghana)
  • 2004-2006 Kaleb Woldeamanuel (Ethiopia)
  • 2006-2007 Margaret Gichana (Kenya)
  • 2007-2010 Kerith Rae (South Africa)
  • 2010-2011 Franklin Elimbi (Cameroon)
  • 2012-2013 Maxim Collignon (Belgium)
  • 2013-2014 Huyen Trang Nguyen (Vietnam)
  • 2014-2015 Boniface Odong (Uganda)
  • 2015-2016 Naomi Torfin (Ghana)
  • 2016-2017 Lui Craddock (United Kingdom)
  • 2017-2018 Victor Vals (Spain)
  • 2018-2019 Bethwel Cheruiyot (Kenya)