History Paper Prize

The History Department recognizes the best papers produced by an undergraduate history major during an academic year.  The winning papers represent excellence in undergraduate scholarship.  They are superior in writing and research, and demonstrate a in-indepth understanding of the subject matter.

In 2018-2019, the department recognized, “Twenty-Five Years of Turmoil, Sacrifice, and Glory: A Condensed History of America’s Original Grand Social Revolution from 1763 to 1789, by Matthew Halberg.  In his paper, Kaleb traced the social and ideological influences that shaped Nazi actions towards homosexuals in the 1920s and 1930s.  He produced the paper under the supervision of Dr. Mike Montgomery.

The History Department resumed the granting of this award in 2015 over ten years of the contest being in abeyance.   A copy of the first place paper is available in the history paper prize online archive.  A list of archived papers follows.