Faculty Teaching Areas and Specialities

The faculty members within Radford University's School of Communication provide a superior education to students which has been built from years of experience and research. Because of the breadth of faculty knowledge, the School of Communication offers a wide range of teaching areas and specialities. Professors and instructors are listed below their respective teaching concentration and speciality.


Includes concentrations in Communication Studies and Public Relations
Dr. Sandra French (sfrench5@radford.edu) is the coordinator.

Communication Studies

  • Dr. Zehui Dai, Assistant Professor
  • Dr. Scott Dunn, Associate Professor
  • Dr. Sandra French, Professor
  • Ms. Kim Herbert, Senior Instructor
  • Ms. Betty Kennan, Senior Instructor
  • Dr. Shuo Yao, Professor & Graduate Coordinator
  • Dr. Matthew J. Smith, Professor & Dean of CHBS

Public Relations

  • Dr. John Brummette, Professor
  • Dr. Lisa Baker Webster, Associate Professor 
  • Dr. Sandra French, Professor

Media Studies

Includes concentrations in Advertising, Journalism, and Media Production


  • Dr. Courtney Bosworth, Associate Professor


  • Dr. Bill Kovarik, Professor

Media Production

  • Dr. West Bowers, Associate Professor
  • Dr. Sam Jennings, Associate Professor
  • Mr. Michael J. Meindl, Associate Professor
  • Dr. Matthew Turner, Professor

Strategic Communication, M.S. Program

Dr. Shuo Yao (syao@radford.edu) is the graduate program coordinator.

  • Dr. John Brummette
  • Dr. Lisa Baker Webster
  • Dr. Scott Dunn
  • Dr. Sandra French


Ms. Betty Kennan (blkennan@radford.edu) is the internship coordinator for the School of Communication