Minors in the School of Communication

The School of Communication at Radford University offers students an opportunity to receive a minor in one of four concentration areas within the vast and ever-growing field of communication.  

Listing of Minors available-2016-2017

Coordinators: Dr. Lisa Baker Webster, Communication / Dr. Courtney Bosworth, Media Studies

Communication Minor

The minor in Communication consists of 18 semester hours in COMS courses, including COMS 114, Public Speaking, and 15 additional hours of COMS courses.

Public Relations Minor

Public relations specialists and managers prepare messages and develop communication strategies for communication with organizational stakeholders. The minor in Public Relations consists of 15 hours of required coursework and one 3 hour elective course in the School of Communication. Prerequisites or permission of instructor may be required for some courses. Declared minors may obtain permission through their School of Communication advisor.

Required Courses

  • COMS 225. Introduction to Public Relations (3)
  • COMS 330. Communication Theory (3)-Requires COMS 130 & JR. standing
  • COMS 314. Organizational Communication (3)-Requires COMS 130 or permission of instructor
  • COMS 408. PR Management (3)-Requires COMS 130, 330 & 225 or permission of instructor
  • COMS 430. Crisis Communication (3)-Requires COMS 130, 330 & 225, or permission of instructor

Students must complete one 3 credit hour elective course chosen from COMS 173, COMS 240, COMS 250, or COMS 333 (requires COMS 130 & Coms 330, or permission of instructor).

Media Studies Minor

The minor in Media Studies consists of 18 semester hours and includes the following nine (9) semester hours of core courses:

  • COMS 130. Introduction to Communication
  • COMS 335. Media and Society-Requires COMS 130 or permission of instructor.
  • COMS 400. Media Law and Ethics-Requires COMS 130 or permission of instructor.

The remaining nine semester hours may be chosen from any other COMS courses offered.

Cinematic Arts Interdisciplinary Minor

Offered by the department of Theatre and Cinema and the School of Communication, the interdisciplinary minor in Cinematic Arts consists of 18 semester hours.

Required Cinematic Arts Core (12)

  • COMS 335. Media and Society-Requires COMS 130 or permission of instructor.
  • THEA 180. Introduction to World Cinema
  • THEA 381. Foundations of Cinema Aesthetics-Requires permission of instructor.
  • THEA 480. Film Theory and Criticism-Requires permission of instructor.

Electives (Choose two) (6)

  • COMS 247. Script Writing-Requires permission of instructor.
  • COMS 434. Media Literacy-Requires permission of instructor.
  • COMS 451. Intercultural/International Communication-Requires COMS 130, 330, or permission of instructor.
  • COMS 452. International Film and Electronic Media-Requires COMS 130, 330, or permission of instructor.
  • FREN 320. Topics in French Cinema-Requires FREN 210
  • THEA 370. Playwriting
  • THEA 482. Documentary/Non-Fiction Film-Requires permission of instructor
  • SOCY 471. Society and Film-Requires SOCY 110 or SOCY/ANTH 121.

Additional special topics course(s) may be chosen in consultation with the director(s) of the Cinematic Arts program.

The director of the interdisciplinary Cinematic Arts minor must approve course selections prior to registration. Some courses may have prerequisites or require permission from the instructor before registration. Students declaring Cinematic Arts as a minor will be exempt from any prerequisites for Theatre and Media Studies courses.