McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching

"This award will recognize in a rather significant way what we consider one of the most important professions -- and one with so many unsung heroes." - Tom McGlothlin

The McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching is an annual event, now in its 18th year, honoring the Blue Ridge region's best teachers with the McGlothlin Awards for Teaching Excellence. These awards are some of the largest monetary awards for teaching in the nation. The awards ceremony caps the day's McGlothlin Celebration of Teaching activities.

Six finalists will be selected for the 2017 awards. Two winners, who will be awarded $25,000 each, will be announced at the ceremony conducted by the McGlothlin Foundation, Blue Ridge PBS and Radford University’s College of Education and Human Development. The McGlothlin award winners must use a portion of their $25,000 prizes within a year for international travel or study to broaden their thinking and experience, and to further enhance their excellence as professional educators.

This year's event will also be promoting the StoryCorps/TeacherCorps initiative, an effort to celebrate the wisdom and power of dedicated teachers locally and globally.

2017 Winners


Image provided by Blue Ridge PBS



Elementary Finalists:
Glen Chilcote -- Kipps Elementary School, Montgomery County
Christina "Tina" Coffey -- Oak Grove Elementary School, Roanoke County
Tim Kilbourne -- Meadowview Elementary School - Washington County

Secondary Finalists:
Fred Mitchell -- Carroll County High School, Carroll County
Angela Myers -- Read Mountain Middle School, Botetourt County
Judith Painter -- Andrew Lewis Middle School, Salem City