

Minutes of the 2025-2026 Faculty Senate

https://www.radford.edu/faculty-senate/minutes.html

Table of Contents	
May 1, 2025	. 2

May 1, 2025

MINUTES Faculty Senate Meeting May 1, 2025 via Zoom videoconference

Members present:

Krystina Angelini, Alyssa Archer, Elliot Carhart, Tom Castor, Mike Chatham, Tara Chitwood, Eric Choate, Matthew Close, Darryl Corey, Thomas Duncan, Scott Dunn, Kevin Farrell, Jake Fox, Kurt Gingrich, Stephen Glass, Rhett Herman, Judy Jenks, Jae Jeong, Sarah Kennedy, Kim Lane, Michelle Lenhart, Luke Liska, Eric Mesmer, Garth Mills, Kereen Mullenbach, Roby Page, Tara Pelletier, Inessa Plekhanova, Jessica Prince, Sarah Rakes, Daniel Reed, Tara Riddle, Tammy Robinson, Rachel Rotert, David Sallee, Rachel Santos, Will Sawyer, Greg Sherman, Judy Smith, Eftila Tanellari, Carter Turner, Susan Van Patten, Laura Vernon, Courtney Watson, Brent Webb, Wesley Young

Members absent:

Ian Barland, Roofia Galeshi, Naveen Joseph, Liang Shao, Jake Stewart

- I. Meeting was called to order at 4:50 p.m. by Dr. Geoff Pollick, serving as Chairperson Pro Tem.
- II. Dr. Matthew Close, past president of the Faculty Senate, was invited to share remarks welcoming all senators.
- III. Elections were held for officers of the 2025-2026 Faculty Senate:
 - a. President
 - i. Matthew Close was nominated and seconded.
 - ii. Matthew Close was elected with 45 votes.
 - b. Vice President
 - i. Kevin Farrell was nominated and seconded.
 - ii. Kevin Farrell was elected with 45 votes.
 - c. Secretary
 - i. Kim Lane was nominated but declined nomination.
 - ii. Sarah Kennedy was nominated but declined nomination.
 - iii. Tara Chitwood was nominated but declined nomination.
 - iv. Laura Vernon was nominated but declined nomination.
 - v. Courtney Watson was nominated and seconded.
 - vi. Courtney Watson was elected with 40 votes.
 - d. At-large Member of the FSEC
 - i. Alyssa Archer was nominated and seconded but withdrew from nomination.
 - ii. Sarah Rakes was nominated and seconded.

- iii. Tara Chitwood was nominated and seconded.
- iv. Jake Fox was nominated and seconded.
- v. Sarah Rakes was elected in the first round with 29 votes.
- e. At-large Member of the FSEC
 - i. Tara Chitwood was nominated and seconded.
 - ii. Jake Fox was nominated and seconded
 - iii. Tara Chitwood was elected in the second round with 29 votes.
- f. Parliamentarian
 - i. Kurt Gingrich was nominated and seconded.
 - ii. Jake Fox was nominated but declined nomination
 - iii. Kurt Gingrich was elected with 38 votes.
- IV. Announcements
- V. The meeting was adjourned at 5:34 p.m.

Return to the Table of Contents