Nine RU CSAT undergraduates recognized as Dean’s Scholars

2016 Deans Scholars event action
One of nine 2016 CSAT Dean's Scholars, Senior Sharon Roller (left) is joined by her faculty mentor and Eminent Professor of Anthropology Donna Boyd.

To celebrate its nine 2016 Dean’s Scholars, more than 60 faculty, family and friends joined Dean Orion Rogers of the Radford University College of Science and Technology (CSAT) for a ceremony and reception April 30 in the Center for the Sciences.

"This is a very good day. We are impressed, even amazed. You have taken advantage of the opportunities to make success happen,” said Rogers. “The college and its faculty who are your research advisors, instructors and organizational guides are proud of you.”

A Dean's Scholar is a graduating senior nominated by CSAT faculty representing each of the college's nine programs. Dean's Scholars have demonstrated success in the classroom, laboratory and other activities related to their chosen disciplines. The 2016 CSAT Dean Scholars were presented a plaque and crimson stole to be worn with their caps and gowns at Radford’s Commencement ceremonies May 6-7.

The 2016 Class of CSAT Dean’s Scholars are:

  • Julian Adams, geospatial sciences
  • Douglas Bellah, physics
  • Hannah Gullickson, chemistry
  • Jacob Hardbower, information science
  • Robert Huber, geology
  • Sierra Merkes, chemistry
  • Sharon Roller, anthropological sciences
  • April Tingle, biology
  •  William Weston, computer science

"She has been a great student and great colleague," said Assistant Professor Anthony Dove as he introduced the Department of Mathematics and Statistics’ Dean Scholar Sierra Merkes. "Sierra cared not only about her grades, but also for her colleagues."

Dove commended Merkes for completing every class in the department’s three concentrations while playing intercollegiate soccer and working as a tutor.

“Robert made the most of every opportunity,” said Geology Department Chair Jonathan Tso about Huber. “I can’t wait to see what he can accomplish at the next level.”

Huber was one of three 2016 CSAT Dean’s Scholars who came to Radford from Virginia community colleges. Huber transferred from Tidewater Community College and will pursue his graduate degree at South Dakota School of Mines. 

2016 CSAT Deans Scholars

The 2016 CSAT Dean's Scholars, from left: Robert Huber, Sierra Merkes, April Tingle, William Weston, Hannah Gullickson, Julian Adams, Sharon Roller, Jacob Hardbower and Douglas Bellah.

May 5, 2016