2016 CHBS Dean's Scholars celebrated at much-deserved awards ceremony

IMG_2127 - Version 2

Family, friends and faculty celebrated 12 outstanding seniors at the College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences (CHBS) Dean’s Scholars Award Ceremony on April 16.

Every year, a single Dean’s Scholar is chosen from each CHBS program that best represents high achievement in his or her discipline. Faculty members nominate students based not only on academic success, but also their commitment to the university community and service to their field.

President Penelope W. Kyle, a perennial supporter of the event, praised the students for their hard work and high achievements in her remarks to the assembly.

“Every year I come away just breathless with what I’ve witnessed on this day,” President Kyle said. “You are some of the best and brightest Radford has to offer.”

CHBS Dean Katherine Hawkins echoed the president’s assessment of the students and praised their pursuit of excellence.

“You work to make positive change a reality not only for yourselves, but also for your friends, for your colleagues, for your families and for your communities,” Hawkins said.

In an ongoing tradition, awards are presented by faculty members from each department, who speaks on behalf of the students and highlight their brilliant works and achievements.  Students are then awarded a plaque and medallion, which the Dean’s Scholars will wear as they lead graduating students from their program during the commencement processional.

Common themes cited about each Dean’s Scholar included near-perfect GPAs, active involvement in professional and academic organizations, a commitment to research and a humble, personable attitudes.

The 2016 CHBS Dean’s Scholars are:

  • Denise Jenkins, history
  • Joseph Chas Parks, social science
  • Chanda Nicole Ingram, interdisciplinary studies
  • Margaret Church Clinger, sociology
  • John Francis Burke, criminal justice
  • Jenna Elise Roark, English
  • Richard Clay Culbreth, III, philosophy and religious studies
  • Kiersten Valko, political science
  • Amanda Dixon, psychology
  • Tommy Morgan, communication
  • Haley Goins, media studies
  • Mandeep “Monica” Kaur, foreign languages and literatures

CHBS is Radford University’s largest college, with more than 125 faculty members serving more than 2,000 students. The mission of the college is to provide its students with undivided attention of a small liberal arts college with resources and opportunities that are expected of a comprehensive university.

Radford University nears completion on a new 143,600 square foot College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences building that will serve as the college’s new home. The building will provide state-of-the-art academic space including classrooms, laboratories, offices and student-faculty collaborative space.

Apr 28, 2016
Lisa Sheffer