RU Board of Visitors awards tenure to faculty members

At its May 8-9 meeting, the Radford University Board of Visitors approved tenure for 15 faculty members, effective with the start of the 2014-15 academic year.

The RU Board recognized the faculty members by reading their names during the Board meeting.

Approved for tenure are:

College of Education and Human Development – Anna Devito and Kathleen Poole.

College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences – Paul Thomas, Ruth Riding-Malon, John Brummette, James Collier, Shuo Yao and Carla Corroto.

College of Science and Technology – Hui Wang and Andrew Ray.

College of Visual and Performing Arts – Timothy Channell and Kenneth Smith.

Waldron College of Health and Human Services – Lauren Smith Flora, Elizabeth Lanter and Adrian Aron.

When considering faculty for tenure, the BOV examines the continuing need for the individual’s expertise, the individual’s teaching effectiveness, effectiveness as an advisor, professional development, participation in university co-curricular activities, committee work, cooperation with colleagues and contributions toward the objectives of the department, college and university.

May 16, 2014