Spring 2014 Research Fellowship Program recipients named

The College of Graduate and Professional Studies (CGPS) has named the recipients of the first-ever Research Program Fellowships.

Ten selected graduate students have been awarded a 20-hour per week fellowship, payment of five in-state graduate credits and a $4,500 stipend for the spring 2014 semester.

The 2014 Research Fellowship recipients, their programs and research mentors are:

  • Nara Cavalcanti, corporate and professional communications; mentored by John Brummette
  • David Cook, English; Donald Secreast
  • Katherine Donaldson, social work; Susan Schoppelrey
  • Brian Drivas, management and industrial and occupational psychology; Jay Caughron, Shuhong Wang and Tal Zarankin
  • Micheal Feeney, clinical counseling psychology; Niels Christensen
  • Kelsey Geary, industrial and occupational psychology; Jessica Doll
  • Ashley Glover, industrial and occupational psychology; Jay Caughron
  • Samantha Gravely, criminal justice, Nicole Hendrix and Isaac Van Patten
  • Keturie Hehn, art; Eloise Philpot
  • Samantha Hilton, special education; Brooke Blanks, Jennifer Jones and Patricia Winter

The research projects upon which the students are embarked include self-control and individual risk-reward decisions, bullying and its effects upon victims and witnesses, policing in predominantly minority neighborhoods, designing temporary labyrinths, building capacity for inclusive education in Africa and identification of roles and values that guide stakeholder organizational expectations.

“We congratulate our research fellowship award recipients and are excited to provide institutional support through the Graduate College to help our graduate students launch or expand their research and creative projects," said Laura Jacobsen, interim CGPS associate dean. "We were impressed by the diversity, strength and innovation of project proposals for this competitive program, and we look forward to learning the outcomes for those projects funded.”

Jan 14, 2014