Governor Appoints New Members to Board of Visitors

Gov. Bob McDonnell has appointed five new members to the Radford University Board of Visitors and reappointed a sixth member.

In an announcement Friday, June 29, the governor appointed Mary Waugh Campbell of Clifton, a retired educator and Radford alumna; Dr. Kevin Dye of Roanoke, principal of Gastrointestinal Associates; Ruby Wolfe Rogers of Gate City, a Scott County Public Schools teacher; Georgia Anne Snyder-Falkinham of Blacksburg, president of Snyder & Associates and former president of the Radford University Foundation Board; and Michael Wray of Roanoke, accounting operations manager for Norfolk Southern Corp.

Anthony Bedell of Great Falls was appointed to his first full term, having served since 2011 to complete the term of a member who retired from the board.

Members whose terms expired June 30 are Rector Stephen Musselwhite, Vice Rector Mark Pace, Thomas Fraim and Ronald Wesley. Rene Fonseca was appointed to a professional board by the Governor and therefore had to tender his resignation.

Radford President Penelope W. Kyle welcomed the new board members, saying, "I am eager to begin working with each of these notable individuals, and I appreciate their willingness to serve Radford University and the Commonwealth of Virginia. I am confident we can work together to meet the higher education goals of the university and the state."

Noting that Radford University has entered its second century of service to the Commonwealth, Kyle said, "These board members could not have chosen a better time to join us as we prepare this institution for its role in the higher education landscape in Virginia and beyond for the next 100 years."

Kyle also expressed appreciation to the outgoing Board of Visitors members. "We are deeply grateful to Steve, Mark, Tommy, Ron and Rene for their time and their dedication to our university and to Virginia. Thanks to their service, Radford is well positioned to continue on the course of progress it has set for future generations of students."

A brief biography follows for each appointed member.

  • Bedell is director of governmental affairs for Intuit Inc., a leading provider of business and financial management solutions. Previously he served as the associate administrator for the Office of Congressional and Legislative Affairs at the U.S. Small Business Administration. He is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University, a veteran of the U.S. Air Force and a former chairman of the Fairfax County Republican Committee.
  • Campbell, who holds bachelor's and master's degrees in family and consumer sciences education from Radford University, taught in the Prince William County Public Schools until her retirement in 2007. She served as secretary of the Commonwealth Advisory Board for Appointments and Commissions, a member of the Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Board and was a state delegate to the 2008 Republican National Convention.
  • Dye is a physician in private practice with Gastrointestinal Associates, a division of Physicians Care of Virginia P.C., Carilion Roanoke Community Hospital. Previously he was president and chief executive of Tri-Med Specialties Inc. A graduate of the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine, he completed his residency with the UMKC Affiliated Hospitals Consortium and was a Fellow in pulmonary medicine at Truman Medical Center in Kansas City. In Virginia, he was a Fellow in gastroenterology at the Veterans Administration hospital in Salem and the University of Virginia Medical Center, and a clinical assistant professor of medicine at the University of Virginia.
  • Rogers is coordinator for gifted education with the Scott County Public Schools, where she previously taught kindergarten and second grade. Active in a number of nonprofit organizations, she has served on the Virginia Board of Education, the Committee for the Virginia Governor's School and as a faculty delegate to the Virginia Education Association. She is active in the Cove Ridge Foundation and serves on the boards of the Cove Ridge Center at Natural Tunnel State Park and Hope House of Scott County.
  • Snyder-Falkinham has served on the Radford University Foundation Board of Directors since 1989 and was its President from 2010 to 2012. In 2006, she received the Radford University Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award. She is currently President of the Radford University Real Estate Foundation Board and a member of the Virginia Tech Department of Building Construction Advisory Committee and the Blacksburg Environmental Quality and Land Use Committee. She has held leadership positions with a number of educational, civic and trade organizations, and has received more than a dozen building industry and community beautification awards.
  • Wray, the parent of a current Radford University student, has held positions with Norfolk Southern in its computer, transportation and payroll departments. Treasurer of the Roanoke Higher Education Board, he also serves on the advisory boards of Virginia Western Community College and the Roanoke County Public Schools Career Center, and is a director of the YMCA and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. He is a former member of the Roanoke County Board of Supervisors, serving as its chairman in 2006. He holds a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Bluefield College.

Jul 3, 2012
Deanne Estrada
(540) 831-6713