MINUTES Information Technology Advisory Committee October 2, 2018

Attendees: Adrian Aron, Tom Asbury (guest), Lisa Blackwell, Caleb Bradberry (guest), Charley Cosmato, Grady DeVilbiss, Phillip Hardy, Karen Hill, Jachwan Jeong, Danny Kemp, Neal Leahy, Jason Lucas, Randy McCallister, Elizabeth McCormick, Margaret McManus, Jackie McNabb, Ed Oakes, Shannon Phillips, Denise Rahmes, Sean Ramsey, George Santopietro, Rebecca Scheckler (guest), Ken Smith, Matthew Taylor, Andrew Travis, Jeff Willner

Absentees: Randa McDonald, Bob Phillips, Meghan Spraker

Danny Kemp called the Information Technology Advisory Committee to order at 9:31 am on October 2, 2018 in the Martin 230 Conference Room.

Danny Kemp asked for nominations for Chair of the Information Technology Advisory Committee for 2018-2019. Charley Cosmato volunteered to be Chair. Ed Oakes made a motion to nominate Charley Cosmato as Chair for ITAC for, Jackie McNabb seconded. By unanimous vote, Charley Cosmato was elected Chair. Charley, as Chair, asked for nominations for Vice Chair. Adrian Aron volunteered to be Vice Chair. Ed Oakes motioned for Adrian Aron to be Vice Chair, Jeff Willner seconded. By unanimous vote, Adrian Aron was elected Vice-Chair.

Charley Cosmato asked for a motion to approve minutes for the April 4, 2018 meeting. Elizabeth McCormick motioned, Jeff Willner seconded, motion carried.

- I. Andrew Travis addressed the primary deadline for Duo Two-Factor Authentication. The deadline for everyone to enroll in Duo with the exception of alumni is October 23, 2018. Reminder messages are being prompted through email and on social media. After October 23, you will not be able to login until you register with Duo. In order to minimize impact on classrooms and computer labs Duo will not be required on computers at podiums in classrooms or in computer labs. Everyone is encouraged to setup two devices and key fops are available at the help desk at no charge.
- II. Sean Ramsey asked the best way to find emails for students since they are no longer listed on the online directory. Ed explained the Virginia House Bill 1 legislation that took effect on July 1, 2018, which prohibits a university from disclosing a student's email address, physical address or telephone number. On June 28, 2018, the University removed students from the online directory and the global address list. As of now, there is no solution.
- III. Danny Kemp informed everyone that the Division of Information Technology is in the process of updating the Strategic Plan aligning it with Radford University's Strategic Plan. A draft will be given to the committee for review before taking to the next level of approval.
- IV. Andrew Travis explained the information security program noting that the program has a security standard that is audited annually. The standard defines the controls to safeguard the University's technology assets. In September, the security standard was updated to include system owner responsibilities for third-party hosted systems, new role and responsibilities for application administrators and an update to the training cycle to include SANS the new Information Security Awareness Training.
- V. Ed Oakes reminded everyone about plagiarism detection that is currently available. Turnitin is available through D2L and offers a suite of tools to check for grammar and plagiarism. For training on Turnitin or Zoom, contact Shannon Phillips.

With no further business to come before the committee Charley Cosmato motioned to adjourn, Neal Leahy motioned, Jackie McNabb seconded, motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 10:18 am.

Respectfully submitted, Sharon R. Ratcliffe