About the School Academic Programs Grant-Funded Programs Faculty and Staff

Faculty and Staff

Offering a quality professional education in social work is the primary goal of our School. The faculty is dedicated to helping students learn in an environment in which they will be encouraged to think beyond themselves and to inquire into the most complex, yet fundamental ideas about the human condition. In addition, ideas will be tested in the arena of practical experience, through intensive field practica. The struggle with ideas followed by testing them in the real worlds provides the opportunity to explore, to grow, and to become. The role of the faculty is to support, to challenge, and to help students become professional social workers who act compassionately, thoughtfully, and ethically.

The faculty is the heart of the school. They embody that which is best about higher education- open minds, lively encounters, and high academic standards. We are very fortunate to have gathered a group of interesting, talented persons who serve as teachers, mentors, and advisors. Talk with them, get to know them, and be prepared to stretch your mind in the process.

Diane1

Diane Hodge                      Director                           Professor                              Ph.D., LCSW                          (540) 831-7675  dmhodge@radford.edu

Rana

Rana Duncan-Daston
MSW Program Coordinator
Associate Professor                EdD, LCSW                            (540) 831-7686                 rduncan-@radford.edu

deneen

Deneen Evans
MSW Site Coordinator
Roanoke Program                 Ph.D., LCSW                           (540) 831-7681   devans18@radford.edu

file

Beth Deskins
Field Coordinator                    MSW                                       (540) 831-7687  edeskins@radford.edu

Etty

Etty Vandsburger
Associate Professor              Ph.D.                                      (540) 831-7674   evandsbur@radford.edu

Kerry1

Kerry Fay Vandergrift
Assistant Professor                Ph.D.                                      (540) 831-7676   kvandergrift@radford.edu

Phil

Philip Mongan                  Assistant Professor               Ph.D., LCSW                  (540)831-7689  pmongan@radford.edu

 

Taylor

Susan Taylor
CRAFFT Area Coordinator    MSW          staylor22@radford.edu

file

Office manager                     (540) 831-7690

Seltz

Rhonda Seltz
Adjunct Instructor                      MS                                          (540) 831-7693  rgseltz@radford.edu

 

placeholder

Elizabeth Arthur
Adjunct Faculty                        EdD, LCSW                             (540) 831-7689  earthur3@radford.edu

Susan

Susan Schoppelrey
Associate Director
Associate Professor               Ph.D.                                     (540) 831-7692  sschoppel@radford.edu

Alice1

Alice King Ingham
BSW Program Coordinator
Associate Professor              Ph.D., LCSW                          (540) 831-7673  akinging@radford.edu

placeholder

Theresa Trent
BSW Site Coordinator         Roanoke Program                  MSW                                        (540) 857-6032  ttrent5@radford.edu

Diana2

Diana Joyce
Admissions Coordinator         MSW                                      (540) 831-7682  dsjoyce@radford.edu

Deborah1

Debora Schneller
Associate Professor              Ph.D., LCSW                         (540) 831-7694                            d-schnel@radford.edu

Mashooq1

Mashooq Salehin
Assistant Professor                  Ph.D.                                  (540)831-7862  msalehin@radford.edu

file

Christie Norris-Bowling    Instructor                               MSW                                     (540) 831-7697   cdnorris@radford.edu

placeholder

Kathleen Miller
CRAFFT Area Coordinator      MSW                                        (540) 831-7697  khmiller@radford.edu

Jim

James Quillen
Fiscal Technician
(540) 831-7688
jequillen@radford.edu

Dennis

Dennis R. Cogswell
Professor Emeritus of Social Work EdD